Eidolon and trained animal?


GM Discussion

Shadow Lodge Event Coordinator - Dragon's Lair Comics & Fantasy®

A player at our regular event posed this question, and I was wondering if there's an official ruling (I have not been able to find one). He's playing a summoner, and he also has a trained animal that he travels with (a hawk, which he purchased legally and uses Handle Animal to control). I know that normally a PC isn't allowed to have more than one animal, animal companion, mount, etc traveling with them, but I was wondering if it's legal to have both an eidolon and a trained animal, since the eidolon is a class feature, not a cohort in the usual sense.

Thoughts?

Liberty's Edge

An eidolon is not so much an animal companion but rather more like a summoned creature so I'd say that it was ok.

Silver Crusade 5/5

From the Pathfinder Society FAQ,

Quote:


A summoner's eidolon is considered an animal companion for the purposes of counting combat and noncombat animals.

so the restriction also includes Eidolons. In your case, I think the Summoner's trained animal shouldn't participate in combat.

Shadow Lodge Event Coordinator - Dragon's Lair Comics & Fantasy®

Awesome. I'll let him know--he hasn't been using it in combat, only to scout. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / Eidolon and trained animal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion