| Bart Vervaet |
Just a quick question to be sure.
A halfling (+2 str mod) on a wolf charges with a lance.
If he hits it's 2d6 +4 damage right (double damage for lance when mounted).
If he scores a crit, this will become 4d6 +8 (lance has x3 crit multiplier and tag on the double damage for charging).
If he also has spirited charge it will become 5d6 +10, right?
The reason I ask is because one of my players claimed that the multipliers didn't just stack but actually multiplied to give 6d6+12 on a crit (x2 and x3 gives x6), going up to x9 with spirited charge, but that seems seriously over the top to me
grtz
Bart
| Eridan |
Multiplying
When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.
With a lance you got:
Normal charge : x2Crit charge: x4
Spirit charge: x3
Spirit crit charge: x5
Player fail, GM win :)
| BigNorseWolf |
Da rules said...
Multiplying Damage: Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results.
Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.
Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon's normal damage are never multiplied.