Replaying First Steps for Credit


GM Discussion

4/5

Sorry to put this out there when it seems so clear in the GtOP, but I just want a simple, firm answer.

I GM First Steps part 1 and apply the chronicle to a brand new PFS Character, named Anna.

Then, I play through First Steps part 1 with a different brand new PFS character, named Benny, earning him the chronicle too as per the 1 and 1 rule.

True or false:

I can then create a third brand new PFS character, Christopher, and play through First Steps part 1 a second time and he still gets a chronicle, as per page 16 of the Guide to Organized Play. Alternatively, I could GM it a second time and apply the chronicle to Christopher as well.

Grand Lodge 2/5

Feegle wrote:

Sorry to put this out there when it seems so clear in the GtOP, but I just want a simple, firm answer.

I GM First Steps part 1 and apply the chronicle to a brand new PFS Character, named Anna.

Then, I play through First Steps part 1 with a different brand new PFS character, named Benny, earning him the chronicle too as per the 1 and 1 rule.

True or false:

I can then create a third brand new PFS character, Christopher, and play through First Steps part 1 a second time and he still gets a chronicle, as per page 16 of the Guide to Organized Play. Alternatively, I could GM it a second time and apply the chronicle to Christopher as well.

As per the scenarios themselves, you can always play (and GM) them for credit to a new character.

Grand Lodge 4/5 *

Feegle wrote:

Alternatively, I could GM it a second time and apply the chronicle to Christopher as well.

This part you can't do - you can't apply two Chronicles from the same mod to the same PC.

4/5

Lamplighter wrote:
Feegle wrote:

Alternatively, I could GM it a second time and apply the chronicle to Christopher as well.

This part you can't do - you can't apply two Chronicles from the same mod to the same PC.

No, no, that's not what I meant. By alternatively, I meant that I could either play it a second time, or GM it a second time, and either way I could give the chronicle to Christopher. (But not both.)

Liberty's Edge 3/5

Rather than start a new thread, I figured I would ask here. This question comes up due to the new rule covering the playing of Tier 1 scenarios on page 16 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, volume 4.0 (August 4, 2011).

So this rule would also apply to the Master of the Fallen Fortress Sanctioned Module as it is Tier 1?

Are there any other Tier 1 scenarios out there other than the First Steps three parter and Master of the Fallen Fortress?

Grand Lodge 5/5 ****

Themes86 wrote:

Rather than start a new thread, I figured I would ask here. This question comes up due to the new rule covering the playing of Tier 1 scenarios on page 16 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, volume 4.0 (August 4, 2011).

So this rule would also apply to the Master of the Fallen Fortress Sanctioned Module as it is Tier 1?

Are there any other Tier 1 scenarios out there other than the First Steps three parter and Master of the Fallen Fortress?

There is The Godsmouth Heresy - level 1-2. I think it can be replayed but better check it out. Memory can't be wrong.

5/5

Thod wrote:


There is The Godsmouth Heresy - level 1-2. I think it can be replayed but better check it out. Memory can't be wrong.

Correct

Lantern Lodge 4/5

Diego Winterborg wrote:
Thod wrote:


There is The Godsmouth Heresy - level 1-2. I think it can be replayed but better check it out. Memory can't be wrong.

Correct

There is some ambiguity around the wording of "Tier 1 scenarios" versus "sanctioned modules" that I haven't yet seen clarified. Currently, I believe that only the First Steps series qualify, though maybe Mark or Mike could step in and clarify this?


Stephen White wrote:
Diego Winterborg wrote:
Thod wrote:


There is The Godsmouth Heresy - level 1-2. I think it can be replayed but better check it out. Memory can't be wrong.

Correct
There is some ambiguity around the wording of "Tier 1 scenarios" versus "sanctioned modules" that I haven't yet seen clarified. Currently, I believe that only the First Steps series qualify, though maybe Mark or Mike could step in and clarify this?

It was my understanding that it was only stuff that was specifically for level 1 characters, and only level 1, that was replayable for credit, but like others, I could also be remembering wrong.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Stephen White wrote:
Diego Winterborg wrote:
Thod wrote:


There is The Godsmouth Heresy - level 1-2. I think it can be replayed but better check it out. Memory can't be wrong.

Correct
There is some ambiguity around the wording of "Tier 1 scenarios" versus "sanctioned modules" that I haven't yet seen clarified. Currently, I believe that only the First Steps series qualify, though maybe Mark or Mike could step in and clarify this?

Sanctioned modules, such as the newly sanctioned Crypt of the Everflame, that is for Level 1 characters, also falls under this category.

Lantern Lodge 4/5

Michael Brock wrote:
Sanctioned modules, such as the newly sanctioned Crypt of the Everflame, that is for Level 1 characters, also falls under this category.

Thanks Mike, that's good to know :-)

Liberty's Edge 4/5

So, if I understand, the list of 1st level scenarios and modules currently infinitely replayable for credit are:

Crypt of the Everflame
First Steps, parts 1-3
Master of the Fallen Fortress
The Godsmouth Heresy

Not replayable for credit:

We Be Goblins!

Do I have this list correct and complete, as of the current time?

Silver Crusade 5/5

Crypt of the ever flame is now sanctioned for Pathfinder play? Awsome! where can i find the chronicle sheet to down load?

5/5

ElyasRavenwood wrote:

Crypt of the ever flame is now sanctioned for Pathfinder play? Awsome! where can i find the chronicle sheet to down load?

They added 7 new modules this past week in the blog...you can find links to their product pages here, along with the announcement.

All but Witchwar Legacy from the PFRPG modules are now legal for play :)

Scarab Sages

Callarek wrote:


Not replayable for credit:

We Be Goblins!

I know We Be Goblins doesn't qualify at the moment because it can be applied to a lvl 1 or 2 PC, but it is an incredibly fun adventure and really never gets old even if you keep repeating it with other players, whereas I have heard many folks complain about doing godsmouth for the 10th time. I don't suppose it could get an exception or change to give repeated credit? It's very similar to other level 1 adventures. Perhaps change it that you could only apply credit to a level 2 PC once, but could repeatedly apply credit to multiple lvl 1 PCs? Its a great intro to PFS, not for rules mechanics or factions like the first steps, but just in sheer fun. My experienced players would be more happier running a silly adventure with new players if they know they can get a little credit for a new PC out of the deal as well.

It makes a really good fallback adventure if new players show up, and everyone, new and experienced players, would leave happy and with a little progress to show on their characters.

Liberty's Edge 2/5

I was just reading the Chronicle for Godsmouth Heresy. It says you can play it for PFS at Lvl 1 or 2. Something along the lines of you must be within 1 lvl of the Teir to play the module. Is that still aplicable and if it is does it apply to Master of the Fallen Fortress?

Shadow Lodge 4/5

Am I reading it wrong that you (now) have to play through Godsmouth Heresy with a lvl 2 for credit before you can play through with a lvl 1? That is what this seems to mean:

Quote:

The sanctioned modules can also be played with a 2nd-level character once for credit. You may continue to

replay the sanctioned modules with 1st-level characters
after playing through them with a 2nd-level character.


No, what it means is that even after you play it for credit with a 2nd level character, you can still get credit when playing it with a 1st level character.

Shadow Lodge 4/5

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
No, what it means is that even after you play it for credit with a 2nd level character, you can still get credit when playing it with a 1st level character.

Thanks!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / Replaying First Steps for Credit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion