| harmor |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
What happens to the bomb?
You are skilled at deflecting ranged attacks with your shield.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Shield Focus.
Benefit: You must be using a light, heavy, or tower shield to use this feat. Once per round when you would normally be hit with an attack from a ranged weapon (not including spell effects, natural attacks, or massive ranged weapons), you may deflect it so that you take no damage, as if you had the Deflect Arrows feat. You must be aware of the attack and not flat-footed.
You can knock arrows and other projectiles off course, preventing them from hitting you.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Improved Unarmed Strike.
Benefit: You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat. Once per round when you would normally be hit with an attack from a ranged weapon, you may deflect it so that you take no damage from it. You must be aware of the attack and not flat-footed. Attempting to deflect a ranged attack doesn't count as an action. Unusually massive ranged weapons (such as boulders or ballista bolts) and ranged attacks generated by natural attacks or spell effects can't be deflected.
| harmor |
Yeah, bombs are (Su) but look at this entry from the Alchemist Bomb entry from the D20PFSRD:
Drawing the components of, creating, and throwing a bomb requires a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity. Thrown bombs have a range of 20 feet and use the Throw Splash Weapon special attack. Bombs are considered weapons and can be selected using feats such as Point-Blank Shot and Weapon Focus. On a direct hit, an alchemist’s bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier.
So I'm confused.
| Quantum Steve |
Ignoring that bombs are (Su) since they otherwise function as splash weapons, the more apt question is:
How do splash weapons interact with these feats?
The way I've always ruled it:
Deflect Arrows treats the attack as a miss and rolls for scatter.
I haven't come across Missile Shield yet, but I'd be inclined to treat it as targeting a square. The primary target only takes splash damage,
Neither of these rulings are founded on RAW, rather they're my application of logic on existing rules.
Strictly RAW, both feats would work the same: the splash radius would be the same as normal, dealing the same damage as normal to adjacent creatures, yet the primary target would somehow take no damage at all from the splash whatsoever.
| Some call me Tim |
What happens to the bomb?
I would rule that a splash weapon, such as a bomb, is indeed a ranged weapon (it says so on pg. 202 of the core rules).
A strict reading of the rules would suggest it is deflected in such a way that you are not splashed, but everyone around you is affected as normal.
However, I would rule that you deflect it to one of the grid intersections of your square. Roll 1d8 per normal scatter rules. By deflecting it to a grid intersection it only splashes four squares instead of the normal eight.
You would still take splash damage, due to the nature of the weapon, but you would take no direct damage. I think that best reflects the spirit of the rules.
| Thazar |
harmor wrote:What happens to the bomb?I would rule that a splash weapon, such as a bomb, is indeed a ranged weapon (it says so on pg. 202 of the core rules).
A strict reading of the rules would suggest it is deflected in such a way that you are not splashed, but everyone around you is affected as normal.
However, I would rule that you deflect it to one of the grid intersections of your square. Roll 1d8 per normal scatter rules. By deflecting it to a grid intersection it only splashes four squares instead of the normal eight.
You would still take splash damage, due to the nature of the weapon, but you would take no direct damage. I think that best reflects the spirit of the rules.
+1 This is how I would run it for a bomb or any other thrown splash weapon.
Carbon D. Metric
|
Bombs are thrown weapons(And thus ranged weapons) that require a standard attack roll to hit regardless of of their "nature." This means they count for this feat, catch and deflect arrows as well. Just keep in mind the moment another creature holds the bomb it deactivates so throwing it back would do nothing.
| Fastmover |
What happens to the bomb?
** spoiler omitted **
** spoiler omitted **
I'd say it was deflected/blocked in same way as it was in the movie 300 when the Spartans faced the magicians when it comes to missle shield. When it comes to Deflect arrows if you play the game of cricket and you play the positions "Silly-Mid-On" or "Silly-Mid-Off," you can deflect the object into the air to slow its momentum in order to catch it safely. Deflecting a volatile/fragile glass container in the middle of combat might be a bit more tricky but I'm sure its possible to brush it slightly out of a direct path.
| Abraham spalding |
Bombs are thrown weapons(And thus ranged weapons) that require a standard attack roll to hit regardless of of their "nature." This means they count for this feat, catch and deflect arrows as well. Just keep in mind the moment another creature holds the bomb it deactivates so throwing it back would do nothing.
Unless you have delay bomb.
| Some call me Tim |
A strict reading of the rules would suggest it is deflected in such a way that you are not splashed, but everyone around you is affected as normal.
The more I think about this, I think this is the best answer. Especially for Missile Shield, I can see the target hiding behind his shield as the bomb goes off. Thematically, it doesn't seem to work as well with vanilla Deflect Arrows, maybe shattering it so that it doesn't actually hit you. It does seem to be the closest to rules-as-written.