
![]() |

So, in PFS I play a brawler modeled after Jak from Jak & Daxter. In the theme of this character, I have a pair of Smoked Goggles that I wear on my head, but not actually "worn" to gain the effect. When playing a mission, an interesting scenario came about. Jak was about to get Glitterdusted, and so i tried to play by the rules as to find the action of "putting on" the goggles. The gm said it was a move action, which was fine, but i still ended up getting glitterdusted since they weren't on at the time of the spell effect.
According to the APG:
These spectacles have lenses made of smoked glass that help protect against creatures with gaze attacks. You are always treated as averting your gaze when dealing with gaze attacks, and you gain a +8 circumstance bonus on saving throws against visual-based attacks (any attack that a blind creature would be immune to). You have a –4 penalty on Perception checks while wearing the goggles, and all opponents are treated as having concealment (20% miss chance).
Now, lets assume that I had them on at the time of spell effect. Would i be immune to glitter dust seeing as i literally have on a pair of goggles? They don't say i'm immune to that, they say i get a +8 to my save (seeing as a blind creature would presumably be immune to the blind condition) so the gm and i assumed a no.
BUT, let's say i do end up getting the glitter in my eyes. can i then pull down the goggles, to get the +8 to my will save at the end of my turn? My argument is yes, because rules as written for the goggles i get a +8 on saves against anything that a blind creature would be immune to. (and it's pretty hard to blind a creature that's already blind.)
On the same note, Is a blind creature immune to the blind condition? Would a deaf creature be immune to deafness? Sorry for the multitude of questions, but they all kinda go hand in hand for this ruling.

wraithstrike |

The goggles do not grant immunity to anything, even when worn. They grant you a +8 saving throw bonus against an effect that a blind creature would be immune.
However being blind does not make you immune to glitterdust. It just means you don't have to save against the blinding affect because you are already blind. It is just like you can't be sickened if you are already sickened because nothing will else will happen. However you are still not immune to the sickened condition.
As aother example, glitterdust makes you blind for a limited time, but if there was another affect that could make you blind permanently such as the blindness/deafness spell you would still be subject to it. <---example of you not being immune just because you are blind.

![]() |

Expect some table variation, but, if you had them on correctly when glitterdusted, you would get the bonus to the save. Putting them on after being affected by glitterdust, though, probably should not give the benefit, as you are trying to clear your eyes of the dust, effectively, rather than having additional sparkles continuing to blind you.

wraithstrike |

Expect some table variation, but, if you had them on correctly when glitterdusted, you would get the bonus to the save. Putting them on after being affected by glitterdust, though, probably should not give the benefit, as you are trying to clear your eyes of the dust, effectively, rather than having additional sparkles continuing to blind you.
No, he would not get the save.
The goggles do not give you a +8 vs blinding effects. They give you a save vs things that a blind creature are immune to.Since blind creatures are not immune to glitterdust the save does not apply.