wayavas's page

15 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


At 7th level, a barbarian gains damage reduction. Subtract 1 from the damage the barbarian takes each time she is dealt damage from a weapon or a natural attack. At 10th level, and every three barbarian levels thereafter (13th, 16th, and 19th level), this damage reduction rises by 1 point. Damage reduction can reduce damage to 0 but not below 0.

So as I understand, this damage reduction is only for weapons or natural attacks. But, isnt DR/- means that it is reducted from every source?
Because if this damage reduction is only for weapons and natural attacks, then it should say something like DR/Magic or something like that?


Thank you Sire.


I think its perfectly possible that you can use a Wizard Bonded Item and the Bladebound archetype of the Magus, because the Bonded item is not a familiar, and does not counts as one and the Bladebound archetype only forbids you a familiar, not a bonded item.

Can anyone comfirm my hypothesis?


Haahaha good idea.


As the title says.


I say the Smite evil works just as the paladin, because when monster have sneak attacks for example or other class like abilities, they always work exactly like they behave as the classes, but Paizo is not going to copy paste what they wrote on the class features.


Is it possible to take two archetypes at the same time?
For example say I want to take Bladebound and Kensai from the Magus class as archetypes, is it possible to advance on both archetypes at the same time?


StabbittyDoom wrote:

I was under the impression that the answer is "yes", BUT you must use a 'cast' (or in this case, scroll) for every day spent crafting. I don't really have a RAW justification for this, though.

It's better that you add +5 to the DC and skip the spell entirely (though this doesn't work with scrolls, wands or staves).

Thank you! I did not think about that (:


Lets say I dont have the spell fox cunning, but i have some scrolls. Is it possible to craft an item using scrolls? I know the RAW answer to this is no, since it specifies that you need to spell prepared, but still...using scrolls is a logical choice since its the same as the spell, you would only need something like read magic/use magic device.


Xisifer wrote:

Hey, folks. I have a friend who is has a specific character concept in mind that he thinks the rules support, but I think it's a grey area.

He wants to play a character who uses a Greataxe (a Two-Handed weapon), but uses Two-Weapon Fighting via Improved Unarmed Strike (head-butts, kicks and so on). He argues that IUS allows him to consider himself as armed even when he's not, and therefore he can use TWF even when both hands are holding his Greataxe. He's also thinking it might be possible (in the middle of a full-round attack) to take one hand off his Greataxe and make an unarmed strike with that.

I'm not 100% convinced, but I told him that if anyone knew, it would be the collective nerd hive-mind of The Internet. What do you guys think? Is that possible?

Perfectly legal, but pretty dumb in my opinion since it going to have a penalty to attack and its damage wont increase unless its a monk.


Edgar Lamoureux wrote:
For the Enhancements on the sword, no, you must go with +1, +2, +3, etc. You cannot trade out the Enhancement bonus for Special Ability Bonus Equivalents, as they would no longer be considered an Enhancement bonus.

I wouldsay you are right but I have my doubts, since this is not specified and Keen is only +1 bonus enhancement...and it does count as enhancement bonus.


Erikkerik wrote:
wayavas wrote:

The Bladebound.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/magus/archetypes/paizo---magus -archetypes/bladebound

First, this archetype forbids you of a familiar, but can I still have an Arcane Bond from the Wizard class? Since it specifies that you are forbidden of a familiar (specific) and not an arcane bond, since the arcane bond is not an intelligent item (and the familiar is, not an intelligent item, but intelligent nonetheless)

Second question, this bladebond allows me to have an enhancement bonus on the weapon depending on my level, if I am lvl 6 for example and I have a +2 enhancement bonus, can I have for example a Keen Longsword +1 instead of a Longsword +2???

My main problem with these rules is that this text does not specify my questions.

I'm pretty sure you know the answer to your own qustions, cause they are both answered in your post.

Of course not, I need specific answers....Maybe the familiar question is, but not the Enhancement bonus of the sword.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Bladebound.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/magus/archetypes/paizo---magus -archetypes/bladebound

First, this archetype forbids you of a familiar, but can I still have an Arcane Bond from the Wizard class? Since it specifies that you are forbidden of a familiar (specific) and not an arcane bond, since the arcane bond is not an intelligent item (and the familiar is, not an intelligent item, but intelligent nonetheless)

Second question, this bladebond allows me to have an enhancement bonus on the weapon depending on my level, if I am lvl 6 for example and I have a +2 enhancement bonus, can I have for example a Keen Longsword +1 instead of a Longsword +2???

My main problem with these rules is that this text does not specify my questions.


Owen K. C. Stephens wrote:
wayavas wrote:

This Magus arcana does not specify how much time it takes to use it, so lets say I want to do this in a battle, how do I know how much time I take?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/magus/magus-arcana/3rd-party-p ublishers/super-genius-games---magus-arcana/enruned-great-weapon-su

Here is the arcana in question.

Yep, that's a standard action. That's why I had it last so long.

And the official rule really is if a Su doesn't say otherwise, it's a standard action to use.

And, life link ought to specify otherwise.

:D

Thanks a lot


This Magus arcana does not specify how much time it takes to use it, so lets say I want to do this in a battle, how do I know how much time I take?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/magus/magus-arcana/3rd-party-p ublishers/super-genius-games---magus-arcana/enruned-great-weapon-su

Here is the arcana in question.