aerm's page

3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Torinath wrote:

t

Yes, whether it occurs before the action requires careful phrasing of the prepared action. If they say "If they attempt to cast a spell" then it would occur before, if they say "AS they attempt to cast a spell" then it would occur...

I don't see much of a difference. In any case the trigger is cast a spell action and it will be interrupted.


Torinath wrote:

From the same source:

"The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action."

I read this as if you move away before he attacks, that means he didn't really get to declare an attack. Because your action interrupted his declaring an attack. Like a mini-rewind button.
So I would assume if he has movement left he can continue to move, or throw something (he can draw as a free action if he has a free hand) at you.

They should use this as an example, never seen it done in a game before, but I could see it becoming very frustrating.

Several people suggest this solution and I would agree unless the correlation with spellcast shows some contradiction.

Replace the attack with spellcast. Fighter A - ready to shoot, Fighter B tries to cast a spell :)
Fighter A hits and Fighter B concentration is failed. According to rules the spell and an action are wasted. If use the above logic - nothing happens yet (just small amount of damage dealt). Fighter B is free to do whatever he wants.

According to the rules attack is the action which trigger the ready and attack is the action interrupted, so attack is the action which should be continued (if possible). No more move possible.

And even using this home rule doesn't solve all the problem. Fighter B could be out of move, in charge and unable to change direction and target square etc.

BTW. To action after ready injustice I use a home rule which states that after ready trigger you get the current initiative, but act AFTER the character whose action triggers the ready


Fighter A and Fighter B are in the 1 move distance from each other.
Both have weapon readied.
1) Fighter A wins the initiative and ready
an attack standard action with trigger "when fighter B will try to
make an attack against me"
2) Fighter B uses a move to approach the fighter A
3) Fighter B declares an attack against fighter A
4) Fighter's A ready is triggered, Fighter's B attack interrupted
5) Fighter's A attacks Fighter B and take a 5-foot step away
(You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.)
6) Fighter B continue his attack action, but have no target's in hit treat range
7) Both fighters have the same initiative, so if fighter A initiative modifier is better he will take the next round.

Any rules violation in this sequence?
If not, it seems allowing the 5-foot step as a part of ready action gives too much advantage. (more examples: step away and cast, step away from charge line, step to treat the moving enemy with opportunity)