
Zedrin |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I'm not 100% sure where to report an issue that probably needs errata, but I did wanna try and bring attention to a bit of an oddity I found with the following Leshy ancestry feat.
Unassuming Heroes (level 5)
Source Tian Xia Character Guide pg. 42
Frequency once per day
Access peachchild leshy heritage
You have a talent for making friends through simple kindness, often among stray animals or other creatures that people tend to overlook, and your inherent magic can make these acts take on additional power. As an Interact action, you can feed a small treat, such as a millet dumpling, to an animal that has an indifferent or better attitude toward you. For the next 1 minute, one of the animal’s unarmed attacks becomes a +1 striking unarmed attack. If it was already a +1 striking attack, it instead gains the effects of the ghost touch rune.
The issue with this feat how it's applied to two entities that don't actually (or wholly) interact with a +1 striking bonus.
Animal companions do not gain striking runes nor do they benefit from item bonuses other than to speed and AC. They do gain additional damage dice, but that isn't a striking rune (even if it is worded so they don't stack). This potentially could give them an extra damage die if they aren't mature yet and haven't gotten their damage upgrade, but the ghost touch aspect wouldn't really apply as they aren't getting that from a Striking rune or enchant.NPCs meanwhile operate on a different set of rules, and likewise just have their attack bonuses factored in; if they already have two damage dice, then technically this would give them a +1 to hit on top of it, but that throws into question if it'd ever grant them a ghost touch effect. If it doesn't, then the ghost touch effect actually can't ever be applied to an animal, companion or NPC.
I think the intention for this feat is pretty obvious, though, and it instead was supposed to be:
For the next 1 minute, one of the animal’s unarmed attacks is increased from one damage die to two. If it already had two damage dice, it instead gains the effects of the ghost touch rune.
Removing the rune requirement/reference. As is it seems more like just using the wording for the Runic Body spell, but applying it to something you wouldn't normally put it on.
Apologies if this is not the right place to discuss or report this thing, I'm not exactly sure where to bring up stuff that calls for an errata.