Yohan the fighter's page

4 posts. Organized Play character for DevotedKnight.



Scarab Sages

Rule verification:

During the Pathfinder game last night there was a question about the Martial Weapons Proficiency feat. I took the Martial Weapon Proficiency (Slashing). My understanding is if I choose this feat I would choose a TYPE of weapon. The GM ruled that you only choose one weapon. I just want to make sure that I understand the rule going forward.

Here is what the feat states:

[quote = Core Rule Book, page 130]

Martial Weapon Proficiency: Choose a TYPE of martial weapon. You understand how to use that TYPE of martial weapon in combat.

Benefit: You Make attack rolls with the selected weapon (without the non-proficient penalty).

Normal: When using a weapon with which you are not proficient, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls.

This is telling me to choose a TYPE of weapons. If you look on page 144 of the Core Rule book, under the Weapon Qualities section it states:

Core Rule Book, page 144 wrote:

TYPE: Weapons are classified according to the TYPE of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons.

Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.

In other cases, a weapon can deal either of two types of damage. In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon.

Also if you look at the weapons chart, pages 142 and 143. The are three groups of weapons, simple martial, and exotic. And each group of weapons has the following qualities:

Core Rule Book page 142 wrote:

Cost - DMG(S) - DMG(M) – Critical - Range – Weight - TYPE – Special

Here again the weapon has a Type: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing.

If choosing this feat means you only choose one weapon, (like Longsword or Battle Axe), than the fighter really cleans house with 36 feats from the Core Rule Book, and 8 more from the Advanced Player’s Guide, at first level fighter.

Martial Weapon Proficiency (Axe, Throwing)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Hammer, Light)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Handaxe)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Kukri)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (so on )

This is just an observation, not a criticism. My goal is to understand the rule.

Scarab Sages

Can a wizard cast a cantrip at 0-level. This is important to determined to cost of an magic item.

Scarab Sages

Hi There! And how are you?

I would like to create a special Magic Scroll using the create magic Item table. The magic spell inscribed on the Scroll would be the, “Protection from Evil”, which is a first level wizard. What makes this Magic Scroll special is that any character, regardless of class, can read the power word to activate the magic with in. I wish to achieve the same effect with a scroll as with a potion, except is scroll form.

I have the Scribe Scroll Feat, and know the “Protection from Evil” spell.

I wish to accomplished this by using the Single Use, Use Activated, instead to the Single Use, Spell Completion normally used for scrolls.

What is every ones opinion?

John