Red Dragon

Tiberius777's page

Organized Play Member. 107 posts (134 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 1 Organized Play character.

I had a situation in a game the other night:
The barbarian was fighting a Augur, Kyton (tiny creature - sharing the same square) on a 5ft stairwell and another party member wanted to pass through his square.

I ruled on the fly, that they could pass through the barbarian's square but the Aurgur, Kyton would get and attack of opportunity.

What is the ruling on that kind of situation so I know in the future?

I like illusions, I like using them as a wizard. However, I think they're under powered. I was thinking the other day of a simple way to boost them and came up with the following (and maybe make this an archetype or something) - keep in mind this is very rough, and just wanted to bounce the idea out to the masses:

For illusion spells that have Saving throw Will Disbelieve AND have a Duration greater than Instantaneous, add the spell level(minimum 1) before the saving throw can be made.

Willy the Wizard is being chased three goblins. Willy casts a Silent Image in the hall of bars or portcullis to dissuade his pursuers. The Goblins wouldn't have a chance to "disbelieve" for one round after seeing the Silent Image appear in the hall.

Any thoughts...?

I've been playing for a while but never had the opportunity to create a wizard.
My question is:
Does read magic count against 0-level spells you're allowed for the day?

Also just double checking:
I am conjuration specialist with an 18 Int (+4), that means I have 7 first level spells to choose at the start (known), correct?

I can cast 3 first level spells a days (1 per day, 1 for Int, and 1 for specializing), correct?

Fast Healing says: wrote:
Fast Healing (Ex) A creature with the fast healing special quality regains hit points at an exceptional rate, usually 1 or more hit points per round, as given in the creature's entry. Except where noted here, fast healing is just like natural healing. Fast healing does not restore hit points lost from starvation, thirst, or suffocation, nor does it allow a creature to regrow lost body parts. Unless otherwise stated, it does not allow lost body parts to be reattached. Fast healing continues to function (even at negative hit points) until a creature dies, at which point the effects of fast healing end immediately.

So if you have one bad guy with Fast Healing 5 vs a party of 5 characters (total of 6 rounds in the turn) would the bad guy potentially heal 30 pts. or 5 pts. in the turn?

I just want to make sure I was reading it correctly. Thanks in advance!

Grand Lodge

I'm writing an adventure that will take place in Tian Xia. This is a continued adventure where the party will return an artifact to its owner. This artifact can be used to teleport hundreds of people across the world. It was to be collected by another faction to collect slaves

Here is what I have so far: :

(1)The party will be employed by the owners of the artifact to find out why the rival faction wanted the artifact.
(2)The party will be sent on a cover-style mission through the Nagajor jungle. Where they will witness Vishkanyan war leaders in a meeting Denizens of Leng. The DoL wants a multitude slaves and were going to use the artifact to collect all the slaves
(3)I want the their black ship to fly and I want it to be programmed to take them to them to Yjae (the flying city)

I need to figure out a good reason for the slaves and a Big Bad Guy the DoL are working for.

The party will 7 characters 7th level and should be 9th level by the end of this chapter. Just looking for suggestion on plot hook.

Grand Lodge

Hi Gang,

I'm a little confused. I just starting digging into the Mythic Adventures because my players expressed an interest in having a mythic campaign. I don't use artifacts or legendary weapons all that often. I noticed the "Black Iron Axe" has a +6 bonus and that confused me. It is a Keen(+1 modifier) Vorpal(+5 modifier) greataxe.

So, is this a +12 weapon?

What are the rules bonuses for artifacts, legendary weapons, etc?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Sorry of these are a dumb questions but I haven't found the answers I'm looking for when failing the following:

1)Move less than half speed and remain flying - Forced to move up to half your movement?

2)Hover - Forced to move up to half your movement?

3)Turn greater than 45° by spending 5 feet of movement - Forced to use more than 5 ft of movement(is that 10 ft)

4)Turn 180° by spending 10 feet of movement - Forced to use more than 10 ft of movement(is that 20 ft)

5)Fly up at greater than 45° angle - Move upward at 45° instead?

To sum up here - Are characters, by failing fly check, forced to move differently? And if so, how does that play out in game? A character has a flying eidolon that he wants to fly staight up - fails the fly check - does it move up at a 45° angle. I know players will be wanting to see if they fail the check and then say, if they fail, want to change their action.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The sample Graveknight hps in the Bestiary say he has +80 and I can't figure out how they got that number.
Ten hit dice (10th level fighter)
Charisma 18 = 40 hp(4*10 hit dice)
Desecrate = 20 hp (armor is an alter)
Toughness = 10 hp (1*10 hit dice(essentially))
TOTAL = 70 Hp

Am I missing something?

Graveknight stats:

XP 12,800
Human graveknight fighter 10
LE Medium undead (augmented humanoid)
Init +5; Senses darkvision 60 ft.; Perception +19
Aura sacrilegious aura (30 ft., DC 19)
AC 25, touch 11, flat-footed 24 (+10 armor, +1 Dex, +4 natural)
hp 139 (10d10+80)
Fort +13, Ref +6, Will +6; +3 vs. fear
Defensive Abilities bravery +3, channel resistance +4,
rejuvenation; DR 10/magic; Immune acid, cold, electricity,
undead traits; SR 22
Speed 30 ft.
Melee +1 greatsword +25/+20 (2d6+19 plus 2d6 acid)
Ranged composite longbow +14/+9 (1d8+11/×3)
Special Attacks channel destruction, devastating blast (6d6
acid, DC 19), undead mastery (DC 19), weapon training
(heavy blades +2, bows +1)
Str 27, Dex 12, Con 10, Int 15, Wis 12, Cha 18
Base Atk +10; CMB +18; CMD 29
Feats Cleave, Critical Focus, Dazzling Display, Greater Weapon
Focus (greatsword), Improved InitiativeB, Mounted CombatB,
Power Attack, Ride-By AttackB, Shatter Defenses, Spirited
Charge, ToughnessB, Trample, Unseat, Vital Strike, Weapon
Focus (greatsword), Weapon Specialization (greatsword)
Skills Climb +13, Intimidate +25, Knowledge (nobility) +12,
Perception +19, Ride +19, Swim +13; Racial Modifiers +8
Intimidate, +8 Perception, +8 Ride
Languages Common, Dwarven, Infernal
SQ armor training 2, phantom mount, ruinous revivification
Environment any land
Organization solitary or troop (graveknight plus 12–24
skeletal champions)
Treasure NPC gear (+1 full plate, +1 greatsword, composite
longbow [+8 Str] with 20 arrows, belt of giant strength +2,
other treasure)

Grand Lodge

How do you handle a wand of cure light wounds in a Graveknights Sacrilegious Aura?(normally it requires a concentration check.)
Secondary question, would a character know they were in his aura without checking in anyway?
To save space I put it in a spoiler:

Sacrilegious Aura:
Sacrilegious Aura (Su): A graveknight constantly exudes an
aura of intense evil and negative energy in a 30-foot radius.
This aura functions as the spell desecrate and uses the
graveknight’s armor as an altar of sorts to double the effects
granted. The graveknight constantly gains the benefits
of this effect (including the bonus hit points, as this aura
is part of the graveknight’s creation). In addition, this
miasma of fell energies hinders the channeling of positive
energy. Any creature that attempts to summon positive
energy in this area—such as through a cleric’s channel
energy ability, a paladin’s lay on hands, or any spell with
the healing subtype—must make a concentration check
with a DC equal to 10 + 1/2 the graveknight’s Hit Dice + the
graveknight’s Charisma modifier. If the character fails,
the effect is expended but does not function.

I'm GM'ing this game where a few questions have already come up.

1)Can a creature use it's grab ability on an AoO (like an Owlbear)?
(Since grab is performed as a free action it seems to me that free actions happen on one's turn - with a few exceptions, like talking.)

2) If a character charges a creature with reach, the creature should get an AoO if it has already acted in the round, correct?
(On Table 8-2 in the CRB it says it does not provoke, but the movement through threatened squares makes me it is possible.)

For grab it says:
...creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity.

On an Attack of Opportunity:
An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked,immediately resolve the attack of opportunity,then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

Free Action:
In a normal round, you can perform a standard action and a move action, or you can perform a full-round action. You can also perform one swift action and one or more free actions. You can always take a move action in place of a standard action.
-- Also --
...You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.

Hi All,

My question is hopefully a straight forward one. The Martial Artist (Archetype) at 5th level gets "Extreme Endurance" which states the Martial Artist is immune to fatigue. Does that mean the character can go without sleep and incur no penalty?

Thanks in advance!

Have the Developers finished rewriting the stealth skill?

I have an adventure coming up soon were I will be using ninjas. For part of this, I wanted the ninjas to sneak around in a house that has a lot of rooms and staircases. In there I wanted sneak attack (by hiding and then ambush the character) and then go away and hide (going around corners, etc, so they were no longer in line of site - observed)and try to ambush them again.

I would like to get a good handle on stealth. Actually, I really don't know if I can deny a characters Dex bonus by attacking from a hidden position.

I did see a link for the rewrite of the Stealth skill, but then I couldn't find it in the FAQs, but I don't think it was clear on if you could deny a Dex bonus by attacking from a hidden position.

Hello All,

I'm setting up an encounter where I have a party of seven rowing a boat across a wide river (300 ft). The boat has 4 oars and I was thinking to have the boat move 20 ft per round as long as 4 characters were rowing. Now there's a River Drake that will attack if it hasn't been paid tribute. I want to make this a memorable encounter, so I was thinking:

4 characters rowing, against the strong, will move 20 ft per round,
3 characters 15ft per round, etc.
If no one rows they get taken by the current
*Can characters loose their Dex bonus to AC if they are rowing for
all their worth? If they defend themselves are they rowing?

The River Drake is cunning, if the party defends themselves well
he will spit his Caustic Mucus to hit the floor of the boat.

I was thinking to make the hull of the boat like a
strong wooden door for term of strength Hardness 5 Hp 20 Break 23
If the boat has a hole burned in the floor it will sink in 2-3
rounds. How many rounds do you think?
I was thinking 3, but 2 might be more exciting.

I will have a bucket in the boat so if there is a hole in the hull
someone can shave a round off sinking if they are constantly bailing
water (same question as to dex to AC). Also, if the party blocks the
hole with a shield or something that will slow sinking (add a round
to the sinking time, say 4 rounds)

Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. Some of my players are kind of rule lawyers, so I don't want to ruffle feathers. Thanks in advance!

We had a situation in our last session where one of the characters was invisible in front of a stairwell. An ally double moved and finished his movement in the same square as the invisible ally. What happens in that situation?