Rexif's page

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber. 1 post. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

It almost reads as if a swarmkeeper's swarm was meant to act with the same rules as an animal companion.

For example, in the dedication feat: "if an ability allows you to have more than one animal companion (such as the beastmaster archetype), you can count your swarm as one", as in the swarm counts as an animal companion (I know it's most likely just specifying you can still take additional companions if you have the option for it).

Also, in the weaver's web feat: "When your swarm ends its turn, it fills all surfaces in its space with sticky webs that last for 1 minute. The webs are difficult terrain", suggesting the swarm should have its own turn in addition to the player.

If that were the case, sustaining the swarm would be similar to commanding the animal companion and your swarm would be able to use its own 2 actions for an additional move, one of the other optional feats, or an attack, like an animal companion. It may not be RAW, but that's probably how I would end up ruling it if any of my players wanted to take up the archetype.