Hello everyone
This has come up before a few times, and reading through those threads, noone could seem to agree what the ruling was here.
Instead of dealing cold damage, a very young or older void dragon can breathe a cone-shaped suffocation effect. An air-dependent creature that fails its Fortitude save suffocates for a number of rounds equal to the dragon’s age category. The save DC is Constitution-based
Now, suffocation is what happens when you can't hold your breath, according to the rules. Until then, you're holding your breath, not suffocating.
So if I am reading this right, it means you fail your save, on your round you go to 0 HP and unconscious. The next round you go to -1 and dying and on your third round after the breath weapon, you just die.
RAW, that is how I read it.
Do we have any sort of clarification on wether or not this is the case?
How have other GM's handled this ability?
As others have said in threads a few years old, this seems... excessively deadly.