Droogami

PhelanArcetus's page

RPG Superstar 7 Season Star Voter, 8 Season Star Voter. Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 396 posts (402 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 1 Organized Play character. 1 alias.




2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber

I've run into an interesting phrasing question here. I was evaluating the Dimensional Agility feat line for my Magus, and overall I'm not sure if I want it; it's a lot of feats, even if I stick to the three key feats (stopping at Dimensional Dervish, instead of Savant).

But then I was thinking about alternatives, and I took a close look at wording. It occurs to me that there is an argument that can be made that a Magus can use Spell Combat and dimension door together to teleport up to a foe and take his full attack. There is also an argument against it. I'm looking for more input, and ideally an official/semi-official response.

(I don't see any question that you could take the full attack and teleport away, because the order is different.)

Quoting for convenient access:

Spell Combat wrote:


As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty).
Dimension Door wrote:


After using this spell, you can't take any other actions until your next turn.

The argument is based in the fact that you are not taking a standard action to cast dimension door. Rather, you are casting the spell as part of a full-round action, which consists of, in either order:


  • casting a spell with a casting time of 1 standard action
  • taking your attacks

Basically, the question is whether dimension door should "short-circuit" the rest of the full-round action or not. I'm really on the fence about this; it obviously benefits me down the road to be able to say I can teleport and full attack without taking three feats, and I can see it being valid by the rules as written. But it's similarly easy to say that this violates the intent of the rules, if not their specific wording.

(Side note: I see no argument potential in saying that a Magus can use Spell Combat and dimension door just fine if he has Dimensional Agility, but not the rest of the feat line. That's likely what I'll do with my Magus.)