Obgob's page

1 post. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The description of the "challenge" class ability doesn't specifically state that only one challenge can be active at a time (at higher levels when multiple daily challenges are available). If you can have more than one active, though, how exactly does the AC penalty work?

"The cavalier takes a –2 penalty to his Armor Class, except against attacks made by the target of his challenge."

So let's say my Cavalier is fighting goblins A, B, and C, and issues a challenge to goblin A on the first round and to goblin B on the next round. This Cavalier normally has AC of 20. If goblin C attacked him, would it have to hit an 18 or a 16 (in other words, do the penalties stack)? And if goblin B attacked him, would it have to hit a 20 or an 18 (in other words, does "target of his challenge" mean only the target of this specific challenge, or of any of his challenges)?

This also affects many of the challenge effects granted by orders in confusing and ambiguous ways. And to make matters even worse, RAW doesn't explicitly prohibit the Cavalier from issuing multiple simultaneous challenges to the same individual either (though I think that's pretty obviously not RAI)