| Leper |
Couple of questions about using familiars to deliver touch spells:
First, the easy one: when a touch spell is cast on the familiar, does the familiar hold the charge until the touch spell is deliver
Second, based on my understanding of the rules, when delivering a touch spell, since familiars seem to have a reach of 0', the familiar actually has to occupy the same space as a "small" or larger (small+) target to deliver a touch spell. This, in order to avoid an attack of opportunity, actually forces the familiar to stop in the neighboring square to small+ targets, and then, on the next round, the familiar uses a 5-foot step to touch the target. And THEN, the familiar has to spend another two rounds to withdraw from the target (ASSUMING the familiar actually delivered the touch), or I guess it could keep attacking, trying to hit for 1 measly point of damage while exposing it to imminent death. Am I understanding the rules correctly?
Commentary: Assuming I'm correct in my understanding of the rules (not a confident assumption FTR), isn't this unduly burdensome for a familiar (considering the vulnerability of familiars and the additional time it takes to deliver a touch spell, during which the master can't cast another spell)? Beyond that, it doesn't seem to make such sense for flying familiars - I mean, you would have to have supernatural reflexes to hit a bat, hawk, or owl that flew in just to touch you? As a GM, I think I would have to make some house rules in this regard, which I generally like to avoid...
