Ok, so my GM is great about encouraging "creative" character development...he wants our characters to be stupid powerful (at least in our imaginations...) so it's that much more satisfying when he makes us run away with our tails between our legs.
Anyway, one of the players (my little brother) is playing a really well-built mounted archer that rides a Pegasus (of course). We just reached 7th level, and he wants to take the Leadership feat, despite his 6 CHA score, so he can have his Pegasus be his cohort. A little outside the norm, I know, but our GM, in keeping with his philosophy, will allow it as long as the Pegasus' first 4 levels are its Pegasus HD.
Ok, here's where things get really weird: the archer wants the Pegasus to have his 5th initial class level be Cleric. I pointed out that this may not be the best option as a Pegasus cannot speak, thus eliminating the ability to use Verbal spell components, nor does it have hands, which makes somatic, material and focus components impossible. He argues that the horse grunting and moving its hooves/wings is good enough since these are his natural means of fulfilling these component requirements.
I can't find in the rules where it specifically says one way or another. The closest thing we found was the rule on ploymorph casting, but that assumes the caster is in a foreign form while casting.
Any advice?