Caroliss Minerran

Meikai's page

7 posts. Organized Play character for illyume.


RSS

Scarab Sages

Grrr De'Bonaire wrote:
*whistles innocently*

Good luck getting that swarming racial trait to qualify for the feat, mister.

Scarab Sages

BigNorseWolf wrote:
So if you have a pixie in magic armor, is that (armor+enhancement)/2 or (armor/2) +enhancement ?

You're not asking for a pixie though, are you now?

I've usually just tried to avoid asking by instead making do with just a wand of mage armor. I'd lean in favour of the "Enhancement bonuses count in full" camp, but there's enough room for other interpretations it's definitely worth flagging for clarification.

Scarab Sages

Secret Wizard wrote:
5. You never want to multiclass out of UnMonk ever. You get nothing from an Investigator level and you...

Eh? You sure, never?

Well, I guess I more multiclassed into it, considering I only dipped one level into it. I did start with the monk level, though.

Scarab Sages

ShieldLawrence wrote:
I disagree. He 5' steps, leaving your square and provoking an AoO for Underfoot. You then use Step Up to follow into his square, which provokes on your part for entering his space. Then you get your Step Up and Strike AoO for using Step Up. He gets attacked twice, you get attacked once. That's the trade.

You know, I think I'm happy with that interpretation. I wonder if we can get some sort of ruling or consensus on this. Preferably before I play next week and potentially lock in some important feat choices.

Scarab Sages

Core Rulebook Glossary wrote:


Melee Attacks: With a normal melee weapon, you can strike any opponent within 5 feet. (Opponents within 5 feet are considered adjacent to you.) Some melee weapons have reach, as indicated in their descriptions. With a typical reach weapon, you can strike opponents 10 feet away, but you can't strike adjacent foes (those within 5 feet).

I'm pretty sure Underfoot Assault does make the foe adjacent to you.

Grey Mage brings up a good point where the opponent might technically never leave your square, and thus never qualifies for the underfoot assault provoke.

Yes. Even with a 5-foot step, a Tiny or smaller creature entering a creature’s space provokes an attack of opportunity (unless it is using a more specific ability to avoid the attack of opportunity such as the Monkey Shine feat). This doesn’t mean that a Tiny or smaller creature entering a creature’s space and moving out of a threatened square with a move action provokes two attacks of opportunity from that creature, for the same reason that moving out of multiple of a creature’s threatened squares in the same move action doesn’t provoke two attacks of opportunity.

Tiny Creatures provoke FAQ sort of negates the second part of that argument, too... but lends more evidence toward the idea "creatures leaving your square only provoke once, even with both underfoot assault and step-up-and-strike"

Scarab Sages

Rules question that may decide some of my feat choices...

If I'm a mouser swashbuckler in an opponent's square and using Underfoot Assault, and have Step Up and Strike (and Combat Reflexes)...

If the opponent takes a five foot step away from me, do I get two attacks of opportunity? (Once for Underfoot Assault, and once for Step Up and Strike) Or do I only get one? (Because the enemy only took a single action)

Scarab Sages

Keep in mind that also means you get 1.5x dex on your bite if you've got 3 levels of rogue, select bite as your finesse training weapon, and have no other natural attacks!