Maxiride#42's page

No posts. Organized Play character for Maxiride.




As stated in the book:

"Ectoplasmic Bonded Manifestation: When a spiritualist
uses this ability and chooses ectoplasmic form, she gains
an ectoplasmic shield that protects her without restricting
her movement or actions. She gains a +4 shield bonus
to Armor Class; this bonus applies to incorporeal touch
attacks."

The last line is a little ambiguous for me, does it mean that the bonus take effect ONLY against incorporeal touch attacks or ALSO against incorporeal touch attacks?


I did not understood if the emotional focus of a spiritualist's phantom is choosed at each summon or it is fixed since the first level when first making the bond with the phantom.


I've been playing pathfinder for almost an year and till know I didn't found anything to browse the game items/spells efficiently.

In the official books which I own its often a pain having to browse the full list and then search between the pages for the full description of an item, then going back and forth again and again for each item I would like to check.

Online the prd site it's built the same without search filters, the website d20 is organised better but here still there aren't great search tools.

For instance how could I get a list of all the items below a certain caster level and a certain amount?

Or how can I filter only the items witch grants bonus to strength?

Is there any website I missed which makes easy to browse the game content?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hi everybody, I'm pretty new to the forum and I've been playing pathfinder for few months.

The DC for the creation of a magic items is 5 + CL of the item found the rulebook + 5 (for each unknown prerequisite). However I've found a post in this forum (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-261004.html) which states the following:

"A 4th level caster can make a Handy Haversack, but would have to leave out the Secret Chest prerequisite, as he can't meet it. And he could make it at any caster level from 1st to 4th. Lets assume 4th level. So the skill DC to create the item would therefore be 5 (the base) + 4 (the caster level of the item) +5 (because he didn't use Secret Page , for a total DC of 14. If the caster spends the appropriate amount of gold, and succeeds at a DC 14 check, he has made his Handy Haversack.

As for the effects of caster level for wondrous items (or any other item, as well):
Magic items use the same saving throw bonus for all saves, no matter what the type (Fortitude, Reflex, or Will). A magic item's saving throw bonus equals 2 + 1/2 its caster level (rounded down). The only exceptions to this are intelligent magic items, which make Will saves based on their own Wisdom scores.

A handy haversack at the default caster level (9th) would have saving throw modifiers of +6. The haversack made by our 4th level wizard above would have saves of +4, potentially as low as +2 if he made it at minimum caster level (CL 1)."

I can't find in the official rules where its written that the caster level associated to an item can be decided arbitrarily, and that the CL written within the items description is just the minimum CL to craft the item without malus (eg.the +5 for unknown peer requisite).

Anybody out there who could enlighten me about the rules behind item creation?


Both mechanics require that the creator have\know the required items\spell apart from the needed creation talent.

It's possible to increase the DC by 5 for each missing prerequisite, but it's also possible to access the needed prerequisites through another spell-caster or magic item. Now my question is: Is it possibile to use a charged rod as a spell source? If yes what is going to be consumed, a charge or the whole rod? In case of failure the rod is destroyed or just a charge is consumed?

Furthermore "In addition, you cannot create spell-trigger and spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites."

Is it possible to use external sources also for this mechanic?

I'm pretty new to the game and I found this mechanic confusing because it looks like that one rod could be exploited to craft another fully charged rod =)

Am I right? What did I missed in the rules?

Thanks in advance!