Golem question here. Golems have their harmed by / healed by anti magic schemes. Does that apply only to a spell cast at them, or any damage of that type? Ex. Clay Golem. Does the 5d10 harmed by apply the same for a Frost Runed Weapon as a Cone of Cold? What about a literal bucket of ice thrown on them? Are they immune to the rune damage of a shock runed weapon? It just seems like a big step for a 1d6 frost rune to do 1d6+5d10 to a clay golem. Makes them a heck of a lot less scary.
That is a very good point. I was totally ready to let the bleed continue, because I think it 'feels' to me like its in the spirit of the typed damage that inflicted it. I agree that it does start to be broken if applied to a weakness rather than to merely bypassing. I think for my game, we'll try to split the difference and see how it plays over the next book (converted Hell's Rebels, in the middle of book 3). I think the bleed continues, but a weakness will only apply to the initial damage. Keeping the 'feel' of it, but without letting it be broken. Thanks all, some great arguments here. I can totally understand why someone would rule different.
Let's just assume for the moment that we're adults who've been friends for 30 years who like a little role-playing and not jerks who just met. He's been hiding this ability for a long time (or using it in secret), afraid of what people would think. There's been a lot of bad clerics around lately. Personally, I cheered the use, and there was no better time. We ended the session with an in-game dirty look across the now quiet battlefield. A heck of a battle it was too. Oh, and the GM had my intelligent sword very upset at the use of a negative channel.
The scenario: Let's say a quick witted rogue ends up on the back of a flying Drake, and the Drake wants to get rid of said rider on his turn by flying through some trees. In this scenario, we ended up with a fly check… but thinking back on it, I think I should have made it some sort of combat maneuver. ________ The questions: Does this constitute a ride (or fly I guess) check? What kind of DC does one give that? Or does is this a combat maneuver for the Drake - akin to breaking a grapple. (and what modifiers apply?) ________ My thoughts: The combat maneuver feels more appropriate to me, because it give the drake an active part in his turn. Modifiers should probably be for relative size of rider to flyer, and also what kind of terrain he has to scrape the rider off onto. The rider's fly (or ride) skill could be a negative modifier also. Thoughts?
|