KoverasAlvane's page

Organized Play Member. 8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 8 Organized Play characters.


RSS

Silver Crusade

Thanks, guys. I talked with my GM about this, and he agreed that he ruled incorrectly. We will be wiser in the future. :)

Silver Crusade

Thanks! Does it say so ("one action = one AoO") in the CRB? I have trouble finding that passage right now. :(

The efreeti actually did another AoO that round, against our second paladin who charged right after me. Even though its Dex should have been reduced to 15 by the enlargement...

EDIT: Thanks, Bob Bob Bob, I found it now!

Silver Crusade

So I had a situation in a recent game where we fought an efreeti (Large creature, +16/+11 attack with a falchion, Combat Reflexes among other feats). It won the initiative, so the first thing it did was change size to Huge, afterwards which it just waited. My paladin charged in and, naturally, provoked an AOO -- or rather, our GM ruled that because it had reach 15 ft. and Combat Reflexes, my paladin provoked TWO AOOs during his charge. And the longer I think about it, the less sense it makes.

Essentially, what is being said is that CR allow a Huge creature to make a Full-Round Attack at full attack bonus out of turn in the time it takes the charging (!) character to make a single 5 ft. step. In other words, imagine this 3x3 giant somehow being able to attack a creature rapidly closing in on it, draw its sword (that is larger than said creature) again, and attack it once more with better precision than if it took a full round to do so and the creature was standing right in front of it.

I realize that RAW say that that's how it is, but to me, this particular use of this feat makes absolutely no narrative sense. There should be a rule that a charging character only provokes once from a single enemy, regardless of its reach, or something. :-/

Silver Crusade

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Stealth specifically notes it is part of an action, and not an action within itself.

Thanks!

Silver Crusade 1/5

DM Beckett wrote:
No, the second chronicle boon that alters Gamin, it specifies at the end of that session

Oh, so there IS a continuation to Gamin's story, after all. My GM teased something along the lines, which is why he recommended I buy the sword right away. :) Thanks!

Silver Crusade

Scavion wrote:
Stealth requires movement and a 5 ft step is movement. Or simply making an attack and then using your move also allows for stealth.

Pardon my necrobump, but I stumbled upon this thread and had a question... My GM insists that you need a Standard Action in combat to make a Stealth check, on basis that "Use skill that takes 1 action" is listed as one in Combat actions rules. This pretty much renders Stealth useless in combat for my rogues, but when I tried pointing out that the skill description says "usually as part of a move action", he pointed to SRD 3.5 where you had to use Hide as a Standard Action to initiate stealth and then some other skill (I didn't play it, so I wouldn't know) to remain hidden while moving to your target.

I get it that he is only trying to balance the game, but for me, it makes much more sense that combat Stealth is all about surprising a particular enemy as to your location (he thinks you're on the right, but you come at him from the left), and this requires shifting position from where he last saw you without leaving any obvious clues where you'd pop up next. Like with Diplomacy, you can't just say "I spend my action to roll for Stealth", you actually have to move in such a way that can confuse your enemy about your location. That, combined with half speed to move stealthily, is IMO enough to balance off the sneak damage it enables.

Do my thoughts make sense?

Silver Crusade 1/5

Alright, thank you for clearing that up!

@"Devil's Advocate": "Second boon?" You mean "Gift of the

Spoiler:
Ghaele
"?

Silver Crusade 1/5

Hello,

I am a bit late to this discussion, but I didn't want to start a new thread for a related question, so...

I was wondering whether you can buy Gamin at some later point, rather than right away? My GM today said that I have to buy it in the same chronicle I got it, but my paladin simply doesn't have enough gold for it yet, and I hoped to put the purchase off by few chronicles. The adventure text says that you are offered the sword by its owner, but it doesn't say that you have to grab it right away or cross it off your chronicle forever.

I know about this post that says "Acquiring Gamin in the long-term requires purchasing him from the Chronicle sheet as per normal." But what exactly is "as per normal" for named intelligent weapons?

Thanks in advance!


Sign in to create or edit a product review.