Joe loves Rules's page

101 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




If you cast magic missle modified by toppling metamagic and hit one target with all your missles, how many trip attempts do you make? In other words, if your caster level affords you 3 magic missles and you hit the same target with all 3, does the target take 3d4+3 once or 1d4+1 three times?


OK, so there is some confusion (at least on my part) about how many attacks a character can make. I'm going to attempt a summary, and can rulesie people (or designers if they are so inclined...) verify or correct for me?

All of this is of course when making a full attack, and I'm not going to mention the various penalties to hit or potential AoOs since they are all spelled out pretty clearly in the rules.

First you have a potential number of weapon/unarmed attacks that is your number of arms. These attacks can come from something that is not your hand or something held in your hand (blade boots, using unarmed strike to kick, etc.), but any not-something-in-your-hand attack replaces a something-in-your-hand attack. When you attack you must declare one of these to be your main-hand (yeah it might not actually be a hand) and it gets any extra attacks from high BAB, and all the rest are off-hand. Any two-handed attacks take two of the these potential weapon/unarmed attacks. For the TWF feats that give you additional off-hand attacks, these can be chosen from any off-hand weapon/strike you have but each feat still only gives you one more attack no matter how many off-hand weapons/strikes you may have.

So for example:

Tom is a level one fighter with two arms. If he has a stabby thing in each hand, he can:
stab you twice (once each with his two stabbies) OR
stab you, kick you OR
kick you twice

he CAN NOT stab you twice and kick you

If Tom has a two-handed stabby thing, he can:
stab you once OR
kick you twice

he CAN NOT stab you and kick you

Frank is a level one fighter with four arms. If he has a stabby thing in each hand, he can:
stab you 4x OR
you get the idea - hit you four times with four different weapons or unarmed strikes

If he has two stabby things, a slice of pizza, and a beer, he can:
stab you twice and kick you twice which Tom could not even though what he has on Tom at this point is a couple of arms busy holding dinner?

If he has two two-handed stabby things, he can:
stab you twice OR (what str bonus does he get on the off-hand two-hander?)
stab you, kick you twice

Now after all that if a character has any natural attacks he can make them provided they do not use a limb that was used for a weapon/unarmed attack.

So if Tom happens to be a catfolk (hehe Tom Cat) with cat's claws he can:
(if his hands are empty) kick you twice and claw you twice OR
(if he has a stabby thing) kick you, stab you, claw you OR
(if he has a two-handed stabby thing) stab you

he CAN NOT:
attack you with his stabby thing one-handed or two-handed and then claw you

Again I'm not asserting this is all true. I'm just asking if this is how it works.

Thanks in advance for the replies!