Isaac Ironside's page

Organized Play Member. 2 posts (3 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 8 Organized Play characters.



Grand Lodge

Sorry if this has been asked before; I looked around for it and saw vague references to it but didn't find anything addressing it directly (even after re-reading the rulebook.)

If something deals damage to you "before you act", can you only respond by playing Armor/Shields that specifically mention being playable "before you act", or can you play Armor/Shields that don't mention timing at all (meaning the armor/shields that _do_ state "before you act" are just more restrictive than other armors/shields)?

On page 10 of the WotR rulebook, under "Encountering A Card" it says:

"Apply Any Effects That Happen Before You Act.
If any powers on the card you're encountering happen before you act, they take effect at this time. You may also use powers or cards that state they can be used before you act."

Is that last sentence supposed to be restrictive, meaning you can _only_ play things that mention this timing window, or does it just define a timing window in which _some things_ may be restricted but are not generally?

Thanks for the input.