Seoni

HexZyle's page

21 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Quote:

The Marriage

On a local check, discard to bless. The character attempting the check may add another local character's die for the skill they are using
Quote:

Acid Rain

For your combat check, banish to use 3d6+9. If this check is against a monster, you may use the result for subsequent checks against it.
Core Rulebook wrote:

Rules: Bless

When a power blesses your check, it adds 1 additional die of the type determined by the skill you’re using. If it blesses your check twice, it adds 2 dice, and so on. So if you’re using your Strength of d10, and you’re blessed twice, you’ll roll 3d10.
If your check doesn’t use a skill because a power specifies the type of die to use, blessing the check adds another die of that type.

I understand that using The Marriage to bless Acid Rain would add a 4th D6, but what of the part of The Marriage that also adds another local character die for the skill being used? Since there is no skill, would the die just be a d4 because the other local character doesn't have null skill?

Or would it add nothing because there's no skill being used and thus no die?


When does this level 7 card come into play? It's considered a Loot item but there's no scenario or adventure reward in CotCT that awards it. The Vault also doesn't get rebuilt for Adventure 7 so it wouldn't show up in normal play.

Is it intended to be a Year of Rotting Ruin reward?


I've found the clause structure for weapon powers a little confusing, due to the use of semicolons in contrast with periods. Here are some examples.

Sawtooth Saber wrote:
For your combat check, reveal to use Strength, Acrobatics, or Melee + 1d6+2; if this is not the first combat check to defeat the bane this encounter, add 1d8. If proficient, you may additionally discard to add another 1d8+#.

Can Sawtooth Sabre be discarded on the first combat check for the 1d8+#? Or does all three criteria (not first combat, proficient, did discard) have to be fulfilled to receive that final clause that gives 1d8+#?

Horrorbane Heavy Pick wrote:
For your combat check, reveal to use Strength or Melee + 1d6+3; against an Aberration bane, add another 1d8. If proficient, you may additionally discard to add another 1d8. If proficient, any die rolled on this check shows 1, count it as a 6.

The use of "additionally" leads me to believe that the sentences describing discarding to add 1d8, and turning 1s into 6s only can be played against an Aberration bane. Does each sentence contain its own trigger or does the sequence of the power terminate as soon as at any point a condition isn't met? (i.e. so if you didn't discard, you wouldn't turn 1s to 6s)


Harrow suit is Stars wrote:
When you play your harrow, you may heal a blessing and/or a Divine card

When you discard your harrow for its power, does this harrow then become a valid target for the "heal a blessing" part of the suit power? So if the harrow is being played to a discard pile that has no other blessings in it, would it immediately heal itself back into the deck?


This feels like such a simple rule but I don't remember where the rulebook specifies where check-independant (not "on x checks") and non-reaction (not "when you x") cards can be played or not played, for example, powers that display, heal, or examine.

I know that during encounters, check-independant cards generally can't be played

I have been running the game with the idea that check-independant cards can't be played after the end of turn phase has been started until the hour has been drawn and resolved, because that feels like it's "in-between turns", where only boardgame admin should be occurring (otherwise you could do weird stuff like interrupt halfway through a reset with a heal that shuffles the deck and changes what cards are drawn). So, for example, if I draw an armor or a healing potion during reset, I can't play it until the next player has drawn the hour and all the Start of Turn effects have resolved (like ones that cause encounters)

But tonight we played CotC 4A with 6 x Collapses in the hourglass 😬, and it seemed pretty cruel to rule "no instantly playing drawn armour" if I didn't have a definitive explanation of why a player can't play their armour card they just drew for a pertinent event that was about to occur


It seems like a possible oversight but the Base is only added to random scenarios 7. Vanquish The Villains and 8. Solve The Mystery. The original 6 from Dragon's Demand haven't been updated to include the base (unless I have missed something)


Core Set Rulebook p.9 wrote:
A check invokes a trait if it has or is against a card that has that trait.

Does recovering a card invoke all traits on that card because you are doing a recovery check against that card?

E.g. Does Fumbus add a 1d6 to all checks to recover Fire, Acid, and Poison Alchemical boons when he has his 3rd character power? (And recovering spells of those types if he gains Arcane proficiency as Boomshaker)


I have come across a few skill terms when replacing skill rolls with another, or when activating an ability based on the type of roll, and I am a little confused. I have three questions:

1. Seoni buries her Sage's Journal to add her Knowledge to a local check against a bane. Does the roll gain Seoni's entire Knowledge stat of 1d8+1 or just the d8?

2. The current hour is Torag's Power. It states "When you would discard a boon to bless a Strength or Constitution check, you may recharge it instead." Do you recharge blessings that are played on Melee or Fortitude checks? Or is it exclusively on raw Strength/Constitution checks?

3. There is a card (I can't remember which one) which specifies to replace a roll with your "Strength Die". If Amiri does this for a Fortitude roll, does she roll a d12 (Strength) or a d12+1 (Fortitude:Strength)?
If she has Skill Feats in Strength, do they get added also?


In Core Set, for Power Feats that have a replace effect in parenthesis, e.g.

• "you may add 1d4 ([]1d6)([]1d8)"
• "discard a card ([]recharge a card)([]reload a card)"

Must you purchase these feats from left to right or can you purchase the most powerful upgrade first, if you gained your role card before upgrading the Power?

Example cases:
• Kess's Bouncer Role damage reduction power
• Hakon's Herald of the Horn Role Diplomacy power
• Valeros's Compatriot Role combat power
• Ezren's Wizened Explorer explore power