Undine

Ghiv Paran's page

11 posts. Organized Play character for Paul Griffith.


RSS

Sovereign Court

Claxon wrote:

Yeah, I'm going to agree. It doesn't say it mechanically does anything to you or your gear except (because it's explicitly stated) that you gain immunity to cold, DR 5/-, and take double damage from fire. I supposed your gear would take double damage from fire, but that would be it.

If they wanted other things to happen they should spell it out.

Spells and abilities only do what they say they do.

Thanks Claxon. I am glad that it works that way. Again thanks. :)

Sovereign Court

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
I'd say you can assume all your stuff retains its special properties, since it doesn't say otherwise. That would include blanches. If ice flesh can move, why can't ice blanch penetrate DR?

That is what I was hoping was the answer, but wanted to make sure. Thanks Fuzzy :)

Could I get one more person to chime in just for the double confirmation?

Sovereign Court

Ghiv here is level 7 and about to be level 8 very soon. He is an Inquisitor that naturally specializes in using a bow. He has an Efficient Quiver full of arrows coated in various blanches to overcome DR of just about any creature he comes across. But a question has arisen with his soon to be acquired Body of Ice ability. Here is what the ability says:

Body of Ice (Su): At 8th level, you can transmute your body and equipment to ice for a period of time. It takes a standard action to take on the form of ice, and you can end the transmutation with a free action on your turn. When you take on the form of ice, you are immune to cold and have DR 5/—, but you take twice the normal amount of damage from fire. You can take on the form of ice for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. The rounds need not be consecutive.

The thing I am uncertain about involves the part that says "you can transmute your body and equipment to ice for a period of time." If my equipment is transmuted into ice, does that mean my blanched arrows all become just ice and lose their blanch or do they retain it? Anyway, thanks for any help and happy gaming to you all.

Sovereign Court

thorin001 wrote:
Trekkie90909 wrote:
*Untyped bonuses stack with other untyped bonuses (most of the time). See my edit above.
At least until the Devs randomly make up a suptype.
alexd1976 wrote:

In situations where multiple feats are in play, the untyped bonuses should stack.

That's why they are untyped.

I realize the question has already been answered, just weighing in to help avoid the inevitable contrarian showing up. :D

Thanks for the input guys.

Sovereign Court

Trekkie90909 wrote:
*Untyped bonuses stack with other untyped bonuses (most of the time). See my edit above.

Ah okay sorry missed the edit :P

Anyway thanks dude that helps a lot. It actually makes more sense that they would stack since why would you ever have more than one teamwork feat that just gives you the same bonus that would not stack. Thanks dude and happy gaming.

Sovereign Court

Trekkie90909 wrote:

Coordinated Shot is an untyped bonus, meaning it stacks with all other bonuses except those from the same source.

Enfilading Fire and Friendly Fire similarly grant untyped bonuses.

So, since they are all untyped they would not stack because they are untyped then. If I am understanding you correctly that is.

Sovereign Court

So yeah these bonuses have no specific type. Can anyone provide me with some help on this one, or anything?

Sovereign Court

Looking up Teamwork Feats for my Inquisitor and I was wondering if the bonuses stack. They do not mention what type of bonus they give so I am not sure. Here are the feats I am talking about:

Coordinated Shot
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/combat-feats/coordinated-shot-combat-teamwork

Enfilading Fire
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/combat-feats/enfilading-fire-combat-teamwork

Friendly Fire
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/betrayal-feats/friendly-fire-betrayal-teamwor k

If these bonuses can stack that would be awesome. If they don't stack, oh well. Just curious if they do or don't. Any help that can be provided would be very much appreciated. Hope everyone has a great day and happy gaming as well.

Sovereign Court

BadBird wrote:

Its pretty common to treat ranged touch attacks as if they were 'weapons' for shooting into a melee, but it's kind of a messy subject by the official rules and I'm not sure it's ever been ruled on specifically. Anyhow, either the bonus from PBS and penalty for shooting into melee should both apply, or neither should apply.

There is an official FAQ that says that rays and 'weapon-like spells' are affected by things that effect weapons, and it's not a stretch to consider the icicle in the same light. Interestingly, if your GM goes with treating it as a 'weapon' then you can point out to him that as a 'weapon' it should receive all the relevant Inquisitor bonuses like Divine Favor or Judgement...

Thank you. have a great day and happy gaming to you and everyone else that helped out on this post.

Sovereign Court

Blake's Tiger wrote:
PBS applies (as does -4 for firing into melee, and Precise Shot feat would negate that).

Cool. Thanks for the info dude. Could I get one more to confirm this for me? And thanks again and happy gaming.

Sovereign Court

My Undine Inquisitor has the Ice Domain which grants him the Icicle ability at level 1.

Icicle (Sp): As a standard action, you can fire an icicle from your finger, targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. The icicle deals 1d6 points of cold damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

My inquisitor also has the Point Blank Shot feat. My question is since the Icicle is not a ranged weapon but a ranged attack, would it or would it not get the +1 damage bonus from Point Blank Shot? I am fairly sure it would not, but I am not an expert yet and just want to get some feedback from some other players on this. Thank you all for any help and happy gaming.