I see this topic has been addressed many times on the forum without any official rulings whatsoever (Am I missing something?).
What is the reach of a large creature, huge creature, and gargantuan creature respectively with a whip? Assume all creatures are humanoid.
JJ's interpretation is that a large creature with a whip would have 30ft reach but that contradicts the Balor's 20ft of reach with a whip.
Ordinarily reach weapons double the creature's natural reach but a whip has 15ft reach on a medium sized creature. Why then does the Balor have 20ft reach?
Thanks!