Derek345's page

Organized Play Member. 20 posts (43 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.




I had a thought today, wondering how (and if) bouncing interacts with dispel magic's targeted dispel option.

Targeted Dispel:
Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.

Bouncing Metamagic:
Whenever a bouncing spell targeting a single creature has no effect on its intended target (whether due to spell resistance or a successful saving throw) you may, as a swift action, redirect it to target another eligible creature within range. The redirected spell behaves in all ways as if its new target were the original target for the spell. Spells that affect a target in any way (including a lesser effect from a successful saving throw) may not be redirected in this manner.

So the important question to answer is: do you think the "due to spell resistance or a successful saving throw" is rules text or just a short list of examples? Dispel doesn't allow SR or a save however it can still fail to have an effect if

#1 The target had no spells on it or
#2 If you roll low on the CL check and fail to dispel every magical affect on the target.

If you think the spell bounces, do you get to reroll the CL check on the second target?


Some effects (eg sleep and fascination) can be automatically ended, usually if some ally/enemy takes a specific action. Does this count as saving if the cause says saving makes a creature immune?

As an example the Nosoi Improved Familiar can fascinate with it's song (su ability).
"A creature that successfully saves is not subject to that nosoi's song for 24 hours."

Fascination automatically ends if you are exposed to an obvious threat. Does breaking fascination this way make you immune to the song, or do you have to succeed at an actual saving throw?

My feeling is that you have to actually succeed at a saving throw, but there could be a rule contradicting me that I don't know about.


I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this, but I'd like to make sure I haven't overlooked anything. Wearing multiple suits of armor would normally be a bad idea because the bonuses don't stack and the penalties do (these are the basic rules for bonuses and penalties not armor specific rules).

The Scatterlight Suit

Spoiler:
A scatterlight suit is a tight, form-fitting suit of highly reflective polymers and synthetic metal fibers. It's designed to reflect beam weapon attacks, and provides only minimal protection against physical damage. Activating a scatterlight suit is a standard action; once activated, the suit diffuses and blurs light reflected from its surface, making the wearer appear hazy and indistinct.

While active, a scatterlight suit increases the wearer's touch AC by a variable amount—this bonus is an armor bonus, but does not increase the wearer's normal or flat-footed AC beyond the scatterlight suit's baseline armor bonus of +1. This bonus to touch AC only applies to attacks made by beam weapons and rays—it does not provide additional protection to other touch attacks.

Provides an armor bonus of up to 9 on ray and beam touch attacks (where you normally would not get an armor bonus) for a check penalty of -1 and a max dex of 8 (highest possible) and could in theory be masterworked for no penalty. Since you don't normally get an armor bonus against touch attacks wearing this plus your normal suit of armor should give both bonuses.

Now obviously this could be overwritten by GM fiat, but am I overlooking something in the rules?