DaPenguins's page

Organized Play Member. 34 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.




Okay so I am very experienced in pathfinder and a single effect of this spell (when rereading it) that stuck out oddly to me. Its the casting a spell of level 2 or lower with 1 of 4 metamagics on it. Here is the text

"
-Cast a single spell of 2nd level or lower as if it were an enlarged, extended, silent, or still spell.

These effects are not cumulative with similar effects, such as those provided by haste or a speed weapon, nor do they actually grant an extra action, so you can't use it to cast a second spell or otherwise take an extra action in the round.
"

Does this spell you cast take your standard action or is it refferencing the rule stating that you may not cast more than one spell a turn unless that spell may be cast as a swift action. I have always ran it as it just enhanced your normal cast but am I wrong? Could i say cast resist energy extended then attack with my standard? I feel like the correct answer is no but I would love to see what others interpret the RAW as.


So I now know of 2 main ways to get 2 extra limbs that function on a non kasatha character and on a kasatha I know of one way to get 6 limbs.

Way 1 (easy Mode)
Get the Extra Arm Alchemist Discovery by dipping 2 levels in alchemist or going mutagen fighter, get extra discovery feat for 2nd arm.

Way 2 (hard Mode)
You take atleast 4 levels in Druid (skinshaper) and shapeshift into Kasatha for 4 limbs and +2 str, keep taking levels to make it something you can do quite often.

Now that I have proven 2 concrete ways I have these questions.
1 Can you dual wield bows?
2 Can you get attacks with TWF and Rapidshot/Manyshot
3 Is there a reason a Mutagen Fighter can't take extra discovery that I am missing?


So I have had a few questions about personal spells recently brought up by both my players and by some of my own reading. I have read up as best I can on the subject but I would like some clarification on things. Below are my questions and if I have answers I have found I will have them accompany the questions.

Q. Can you make Personal spells into potions?
A. No. (Though occasionally I ran across a mention of some way with alchemist. Not sure if this is true.)

Q. Can you make personal spells into wands?
A. I have seen nothing saying you cant it just always casts itself on the user of the wand.

Q. Do personal spells "target one or more creatures"? this is specifically in relation to abilities which can only be used on abilities which use spells which "target one or more creatures".
A. None found.

Q. Can personal spells be cast from an intelligent item on the wielder of the item or is it cast on the item itself?
A. None found but from the looks of it the Item would cast it on itself not on the wielder as the item can count as a target if it is intelligent.

Any help would be greatly appreciated I am solely hoping for official paizo stuff and if certain things need to have some abilities or something to work I would like to know how it would work.


A few things to get out of the way first. This post is made with the assumption that Spring Attack was able to be gotten without any prerequisites (there is at least 1 way I know), second it is under the assumption that bull rush can not naturally be swapped for the one attack you receive, thirdly it is under the assumption that you have in excess of 60ft of base movement. (Not to terribly hard at mid level)

Here is what I would like to know

1: How does Spring Attack interact with the following Feats? On those which normally would let you move with the target can you move with the target as part of the bull rush then continue your movement afterwards with the rest of spring attack?
a.)Quick Bull Rush
b.)Bull Rush Strike
c.)Shield Slam

2: How would spring attack interact with Bull Rush like manuevers such as:
a.) Awesome Blow
b.) Unchained Monk Knockback Kick


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Growth in Ash:
When you succeed at a Reflex save to avoid catching on fire, or when you cease taking ongoing fire damage from a spell or effect, you can smear ash on yourself as an immediate action to gain fast healing 1 for 3 rounds. For every Hit Die you have beyond 3, extend the duration of this fast healing by an additional round.

Above is the text of growth in ash, so what I was wondering is does this feat allow for out of combat infinite healing? This seems like a really powerful feat if so. Basically there are some mundane situations where you can catch on fire that can easily be reproduced in a safe environment and with 5 points of fire resist or more you don't care about the small risk of catching on fire. Even without the fire resist a mid level dex based character will only fail on a 1 or 2 for the catch on fire. So what is stopping a character with a +14 or 15 from purposefully putting themselves in situations where they would need to make a save to catch on fire and when they succeed their save they get 3-20 points of healing over 3-20 rounds.


So this is very much an arguement of semantics and I am 100% sure RAI would not work. The scenario here is and Questions are purely meant to use RAW.

Delayed Action:

Delay
By choosing to delay, you take no action and then act normally on whatever initiative count you decide to act. When you delay, you voluntarily reduce your own initiative result for the rest of the combat. When your new, lower initiative count comes up later in the same round, you can act normally. You can specify this new initiative result or just wait until some time later in the round and act then, thus fixing your new initiative count at that point.

You never get back the time you spend waiting to see what’s going to happen. You also can’t interrupt anyone else’s action (as you can with a readied action).

Initiative Consequences of Delaying
Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the delayed action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed an action, you don’t get to take a delayed action (though you can delay again).

If you take a delayed action in the next round, before your regular turn comes up, your initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle, and you do not get your regular action that round.

This seems pretty straight forward and useful in quite a few circumstances but not powerful in any way. However it seems to mean that you never start your turn on the original initiative score and only start your turn on the new initiative score. Now whichever way you interpret this has unintended consequences as there are effects that occur at the start of your turn and effects that last till the start of your next turn.

So here are some abilities/feats/actions it matters alot for and your interpretation changes how it might be used.

Power Attack - This says these bonuses and penalties last until your next turn. If your turn begins on your normal initiative then theoretically any attacks you make between your origional and new initiatives are not modified by Power Attack.

Charge - This says you take a -2 to AC till the start of your next turn, if you turn does not start the -2 lasts till your new initiative however if it does start then your initiative goes up despite you taking no actions.

Now these both seem like low yield cases generally and I feel like these are not a big enough deal to FAQ over however some of the other effects and implications are much more powerful and important to know how they stand.

One big example is Destructive Dispel which has the following text.

Destructive Dispel:

When you successfully make a targeted dispel check against an opponent, that opponent must succeed at a Fortitude save (DC equals the DC of the spell used to dispel) or be stunned until the start of your next turn. If the save succeeds, the opponent is instead sickened until the start of your next turn.

So lets say you manage to get a solo monster to fail the fort save after a targeted dispel, they are stunned and all you might have to do is delay your action to keep them perma stunned.

Here would also be an example of a way to just be able to take one extra turn away from the monster.
Initiative round 1 - You:18, Monster 15, Ally1: 10
Round 1 you dispel effect on monster and monster fails fort save. Monster is stunned and takes no action. Ally does something.

Round 2 you decide to delay initiative to a 12, new initiative is - Monster:15, You:12, Ally1:10
Monster goes first but if your turn has not started he is stunned and does nothing. You go, monster is no longer stunned, you get to act normally. Ally1 gets a turn.

So my questions are as follows.
1. When you delay does your turn start on your original initiative or on your new initiative?
2. If you delay a full turn taking no actions and return to your original initiative and delay again do you begin either of your turns?
3. a. If your turn begins on your original initiative when you delay when does your turn end?
3. b. If it lasts only till the end of that initiative do things which trigger at end of turn have the potential to trigger twice in a round?
3. c. If it ends at the end of your new initiative does all turns between those two initiatives count as happening on your turn?


So these two feats provide a few odd interactions with different abilities.
The feats read as follows

Empty Quiver Style and Flexibility:
Empty Quiver Style
Prerequisite(s): Weapon Focus with the chosen weapon.

Benefit(s): While using this style, you can make melee attacks with the chosen weapon as if it were a heavy mace (or a light mace for melee attack made with a hand crossbow or one-handed firearm), though you don’t automatically threaten the area around you as if you were wielding a melee weapon.

You can switch between melee and ranged attacks with this weapon without penalty, even during the same round. In addition, you ignore the elf prerequisite for the Stabbing Shot feat.

If you have the Stabbing Shot feat, you can use it with a crossbow or firearm, substituting a loaded bolt or firearm ammunition for an arrow.

Special: In addition to the chosen weapon, a character with this feat and the weapon training (bows, crossbows, or firearms) class feature can use Empty Quiver Style with any bow, crossbow, or firearm, respectively.

Empty Quiver Flexibility
Prerequisite(s): Empty Quiver Style, Rapid Shot, Stabbing Shot, Weapon Focus with the chosen weapon.

Benefit(s): While using Empty Quiver Style, you can apply any feats and class abilities you possess that modify your ranged attack rolls and damage rolls with the chosen weapon to melee attack rolls and damage rolls made with that weapon. Additionally, you are considered to be threatening the area around you as if you were wielding a melee weapon.


So the important two lines between them are "you can make melee attacks with the chosen weapon as if it were a heavy mace" and "you can apply any feats and class abilities you possess that modify your ranged attack rolls and damage rolls with the chosen weapon to melee attack rolls and damage rolls made with that weapon."

Question 1: Can you use both Deadly Aim and Power Attack on melee attacks with your 'chosen weapon'?
Question 2: Can you use feats like rapid shot to melee attacks with this line?
Question 3: If you have weapon training with both Heavy Mace and Bows then do you get to apply both to melee attacks?
Question 4/5: Can you take both Weapon Focus Longbow and Weapon Focus Heavy Mace and apply them both to melee attack rolls? Would the same apply to the rest of the Weapon Specialization and Weapon Focus line?


Okay so here is my question and as far as I have seen there is no definitive answer on this. If there is please link me it.

If you have items or abilities which allow you to count as x levels higher in y class for x ability can your level + x be higher than 20?

I know many abilities have lines like to a maximum of +x at level 19 or 20 but this is more for abilities which do not have that line. For instance Bravery.

Text of Bravery:
Starting at 2nd level, a fighter gains a +1 bonus on Will saves against fear. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels beyond 2nd.

So if you had an item like Sash of the War Champion and/or Band of the Stalwart Warrior would you be able to have a +6 or +7 bravery bonus at level 20?

Let me be clear, I am not looking for weighing in on things which go off tables which don't go above 20 I am looking for a consensus on things which scale linearly to level. So the Monk with Monk's Robes argument does not exactly work here as it is based off a table which does not address level 21+.

Here are the reasons I believe you should be able to do this.
-There are abilities which do call out maximums at certain levels such as the Cavalier's Challenge ability which can be used "a maximum of seven times per day at level 19"
-There are abilities which specifically call out levels which they improve instead of listing a progression. Trap Sense from the rogue for instance. It calls out each level individually where it improves rather than saying at level three and every three levels after.
-There are means of increasing some of these abilities past what would be their normal maximum through items such as items which give flat bonuses to weapon training with Gloves of Dueling.
-There is nothing in the rules to indicate that you can't
-This might have been a way to make certain abilities a little better by not capping them as you get into high levels.

Here are the reasons I believe it should not be allowed.
-It could lead to some very unintended consequences for SLA, SU, and EX abilities which base their DC off of 'class level'
-It feels like this may have been a writing oversight or simply a means of saving space when writing the book.
-This seems to break the normal rule of you can't take more than 20 levels in a given class. (Though you are not taking more levels just increasing your effective levels)

Thoughts and Opinions welcome please discuss and if you want this to be answered pop that FAQ button.


Okay so I saw only one thread address this and at the time no tiny plants existed according to the poster. Well now at least 1 tiny plant exists and as I am interested in playing a dex based treesinger I kinda would love to know what ability score changes are given when you take on the shape of a tiny plant as they are not listed in plant shape 1,2, or 3.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So I have recently been looking through quite alot of things and I have come up with a build I desperately want to play. I want the following things for this build.
1. I want to play a fighter Eldritch Gaurdian (preferably with Mutagen Warrior archetype as well but not needed)
2. My familiar must take the Mauler Archetype.
3. My familiar should be flying unless you have a damn good reason not to.
4. I want to be able to mount my Familiar by level 3 and ride around on it during combat.

So now regarding a few other things. I am assuming a 20pt buy and either core races preferred but featured races are allowed. I want to keep full progression of my familiar as well.

Here is my initial idea
Gnome, Eldritch Guardian/Mutagen Warrior (Fighter)
Str 16
Dex 10
Con 16
Int 10
Wis 12
Cha 9
with an Owl Familiar (Could be hawk both are nearly the same)
I take one of the many traits that give me ride as a class skill again and a +1 to it along with some other trait.
Pick up a lance and take mounted combat at 1 and ride by at 3 then spirited charge at 4 then power attack at 5. After that I was thinking weapon focus and specialization lines.
The owl at level 3 would be medium whenever I wish and have a strength of 17 unless I did some math wrong somewhere which would let it carry a gnome with mild gear while still being on a light load. Anyone interested in tossing me some ideas? (This does not need to be PFS legal just please no 3.5 or third party stuff.)


61 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 5 people marked this as a favorite.

So I have looked through the rules questions board many times for everything I can find on improvised weapons either being or not being weapons for a variety of purposes, ranging from feats, to class abilities, to magic, and to enchanting. This is something that as of yet has had no official or convincing response that I could find. This post will hopefully get FAQed enough to get an official response.

Here are the big questions which I see as most important for improvised weapons.

What can be classified as an improvised weapon?
Do improvised weapons count as weapons for all purposes?
Do improvised weapons count as weapons for the purposes of spells which must target an individual weapon such as Magic Weapon or Greater Magic Weapon?
Do improvised weapons count as weapons for class abilities which require a weapon such as Paladin's bond or Magus' spellstrike ability?
Do improvised weapons count as weapons for purposes of enchanting them as weapons?
Do improvised weapons count as weapons for purposes of Feats which require a weapon to use such as Arcane Strike?

Evidence I have found on Improvised Weapons.

Base Rules:
Sometimes objects not crafted to be weapons nonetheless see use in combat. Because such objects are not designed for this use, any creature that uses an improvised weapon in combat is considered to be nonproficient with it and takes a –4 penalty on attack rolls made with that object. To determine the size category and appropriate damage for an improvised weapon, compare its relative size and damage potential to the weapon list to find a reasonable match. An improvised weapon scores a threat on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a critical hit. An improvised thrown weapon has a range increment of 10 feet.

Proficiency Rules:
Most character classes are proficient with all simple weapons. Combat-oriented classes such as barbarians, cavaliers, and fighters are proficient with all simple and all martial weapons. Characters of other classes are proficient with an assortment of simple weapons and possibly some martial or even exotic weapons. All characters are proficient with unarmed strikes and any natural weapons they gain from their race. A character who uses a weapon with which he is not proficient takes a –4 penalty on attack rolls with that weapon.

Improvised Defense Trait:
Whenever you wield an improvised weapon, you gain a +1 shield bonus to AC. If you use the improvised weapon to attack, you lose this shield bonus until the beginning of your next turn. (From PPC Bastards of Galorion)

Living Grimoire Archetype Holy Book Ability:
Holy Book (Su)

At 1st (level, a living grimoire forms a supernatural bond with a large ironbound tome containing the holy text of his deity and learns to use it as a weapon.

When wielding the holy book as a weapon, he deals base damage as if it were a cold iron light mace (but see Sacred Word below), is considered proficient with the book, takes no improvised weapon penalty, and gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls with the book. The tome serves as his holy symbol and divine focus, and can be enchanted as a magic weapon.

He can replace his bonded tome with another book at any time, though he must perform a 24-hour binding ritual to attune himself to the new book. (From Pathfinder Roleplaying game Horror Adventures)

Here is my reasoning on the questions above. Only items which could be used in combat can be considered improvised weapons, that means that things such as paper or a loaf of bread would not work however most things made of metal could count along with many things made of wood or other hard objects. Weapons and Armor are the only items with apparent Proficiency rules and as we are clearly not talking about armor and since non-proficiency is the reason for the -4 to hit it would come to reason that they are weapons for atleast some purposes as they are considered weapons for proficiency reasons. Improvised Weapons must also be considered improvised weapons even when not being actively used as weapons otherwise the trait Improved Defense would do absolutely nothing.

Please feel free to debate these issues here and please press the FAQ button regardless of which side you believe is right if you want to have an official answer.


So first things first. There are three ways to 'blind' yourself in theory that are all temporary,
1 Put a blindfold over your eyes (Move action if you wear it as a bandana most of the time
2 Close your eyes (Some will tell me this does not work but here is my reason for believing it does. Blinded Blade Style ) If you don't think this works fine with me, ignore this way.
3 not have darkvision in a place with no light. Also slightly shaky ground but a possible way depending on GM.

Second and this is something I have read several posts on and have yet to see a definitive answer and I would love to get something more solid. Does being blind make you immune to illusions? I am almost 100% sure it does not make you immune to ALL illusions however it definitely makes you immune to a great deal of them specifically ones which rely on sight. Heck it even kinda makes you immune to invisibility because if you are blind you already cant see them... What I more ask here is is there a hard and fast rule in the blinded condition or being blind that says it gives you immunity to illusions. I know many people refference the Ooze creature type which says Oozes are blind and immune to illusions but if you finish that sentence it says "that are based on sight." Does this mean people have been reading Ooze wrong or am I reading it wrong?

Third and here is where I feel this thread will differ from the others. Blinded can be helpful in combat. Okay so not all that helpful but in niche areas it can make a fight much easier. Mirror Image an all to popular spell can make you only have a 1 in 9 chance of hitting your target, or a 1 in 2 chance if it is about to run out. Well what if for all attacks from everyone in melee you just make it act as displacement by closing your eyes. You open them at the end of your turn so you don't have the penalties outside of your turn. Or if you are facing an illusionist who uses spells like prismatic spray and color spray and other glamer/figment effects. You close your eyes when it is not your turn and open them on your turn. Oh no you loose AOOs and AC I say that can be a price worth paying for not being useless in combat for several rounds. Now this downgrades in usefulness if you don't like the whole close your eyes makes you blind thing.

So now that I have laid out my ideas here I want to know what people think of the following assertions.
1. If you are blind you are ONLY immune to visual based illusions and nothing else.
2. You are considered to be blind if you make a conscious effort to keep your eyes closed or block your vision. (Think of it as improved averting gaze for gaze attacks.)
3. Blindness can be useful.
Do you agree or disagree with anything presented above? These three statements I made are a TLDR and the highlights of things I want talked about.


Okay so this is probably a case of poorly done wording causing things to work together which were not intended to. So path of glory reads as follows

Spoiler:
You cause four 5-foot squares (one of which must be your space) to glow with dim illumination. Starting on your next turn, as a swift action you can extend the glowing area by an additional four 5-foot squares; each new square must be adjacent to a square that was previously glowing. Allies that end their turns on a glowing square (including one who falls unconscious in the square) are healed of 1 point of damage.

and Celestial Totem Lesser reads as follows

Spoiler:
While raging, the barbarian benefits from increased magical healing. Whenever she is subject to a spell that cures hit point damage, she heals 1 additional point of damage per caster level. In the case of non-spell healing effects (such as channeled energy or lay on hands), she heals a number of additional points equal to the class level of the character performing the magical healing. This does not affect fast healing or regeneration.

Now I pose this question. Does the celestial totem lesser amplify the healing produced on each turn of Path of Glory or does it not work with it. Path of glory is definately NOT fast healing otherwise it would mention those words. Also fast healing occurs at the beginning of the turn not the end so changing it would change how the spell works. I would not be bringing this up save for the fact that BOTH of these abilities are available to a level 4 skald, which he can share them with his party. So assuming it would work that would be 20 points of healing to each person who starts in the squares that start their turns in the glowing squares on round one and 15 to those that get in on round 2. This compounds itself with each level. Level 5 turns into 30 for the first rounders and 24 for the second rounders. Now yes it costs alot of rounds of bardic performance right? Not really, what if you have lingering performance (as many skalds do) then guess what for 2 rounds of performance and a second level spell you heal most of the party for 20 at level 4, granted that is only out of combat healing but still.

So to be clear, here are the things I wish for this thread to discuss.
1. Do these two affects work with each other RAW?
2. Is this as powerful as I think it is?
3. Should either of these two receive an errata if so which one needs to be clarified?

Links to the PFSRD version of each of the above abilities below.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/p/path-of-glory
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/barbarian/rage-powers/paizo--- rage-powers/celestial-totem-lesser-su


So while looking over sorcerer I found the false priest archetype and I have not heard of any broken things being done with this yet at level 9 I believe it allows for a very high potential for making money and I want to make sure this works.
This is the false priest archetype
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/sorcerer/archetypes/paizo---so rcerer-archetypes/razmiran-priest
This archetype gives this ability in place of your 9th level bloodline power that reads as follows

Spoiler:
"At 9th level, the false priest can use his own magic to power spell completion and spell trigger items that use divine spells. He expends a sorcerer spell slot that is at least 1 level higher than the level of the spell he’s trying to activate, then makes a Use Magic Device check. If he succeeds, the item’s spell occurs and the item or charge is not expended. If he fails, nothing happens. Whether he succeeds or fail, his spell slot is expended."

Now unless I am mistaken spell completion items, such as scrolls, are made with the expensive material components already inside them thus making them free to use. So the lowest level spell I can find that literally gains you money is bless water. This is because it creates holy water which can be sold for 12 gold. Granted this is a low power usage of this ability there are other abilities which could cause greater issues for economies with other spells. Ignoring the level 12 I can raise people from the dead for free with Raise Dead Scroll if you are playing in a game with a somewhat flexible GM you might be able to commission 3 scrolls of masterwork transformation (1 for each version of it) from a cleric then it would be a divine spell. I am unsure if this use of it would work however even if it does not there are still several powerful usages of this ability.

Just to list off a few of the spells that would be 'free' to cast (for sure as they are not on the wizard list) This list only includes spells which have a material component. This looks at only cleric and druid spells which are not in combat spells usually.

Spoiler:

Level 1
Bless Water
Curse Water
Level 2
Consecrate
Desecrate
Ironskin
Level 3
Glyph of Warding
Nap Stack
Glyph of Healing (Out of combat cure moderate mass for a 4th level spell not bad plus able to prepare it the day ahead of time.)
Waters of Maddening
Level 4
Divination
Restoration
Level 5
Atonement
Commune
Hallow
Raise Dead
Unhallow
Awaken
Level 6
Forbiddance
Glyph of Warding Greater
Level 7
Greater Restoration
Ressurrection
Level 8
None without a flexible GM to allow scrolls to be made as divine even if they are on a wizard list

If I am wrong about any of this please let me know.


Okay so I am working on a vigilante Avenger and am building them as a Wildsoul Ursine Path. I decided to build an Aasimar so that by level 11 I would be able to get metallic wings and have 5 natural attacks. 2 claws 1 bite and 2 wings. Looking through items I decided adding an additional attack would be nice so I picked up Helm of the mammoth lord to add in a 1d6 gore attack, bringing my total attacks up to six. So far so good right? Well here is where the tricky part comes in. There are two other abilities that the vigilante can choose from his vigilante talents. Fist of the Avenger and Shield of Fury. I take these at level 4 and 8 respectively.

Using a shield in one hand and an unarmed kick you would be able to two weapon fight while getting your full natural attack list minus the claw attack for the shield. This levels you out at 9 attacks at level 11 not counting improved twf or greater twf (as you would need to do alot of retraining to do this). Give yourself till level 15 you can easily pick up the two additional feats and bam 11 attacks without haste. I have not done damage calculations on this and honestly it might not work out to better than other characters but I just wanted to see if you all thought this might work.

I know there is still some argument about how unarmed strikes interact with natural attacks so I present you a line from the combat section of the PFSRD

Spoiler:

You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee weapon and unarmed strikes, so long as a different limb is used for each attack. For example, you cannot make a claw attack and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword.

Now I want to know, does this work why or why not? If people want to try to build and number crunch this or a similar build I would also love to see what kinda damage this character averages.