So this has come up in a discussion, but what should happen by RAW if you use 3-action Heal on a dhampir?
A dhampir is not undead, but has negative healing, which states: "It is damaged by positive damage and is not healed by positive healing effects. It does not take negative damage, and it is healed by negative effects that heal undead."
Heal states: "If the target is a willing living creature, you restore 1d8 Hit Points. If the target is undead, you deal that amount of positive damage to it, and it gets a basic Fortitude save."
So a dhampir, as written, isn't undead, and thus doesn't take damage, but also can't be healed from positive healing, and thus gains no health. Is this intended, or an oversight?
(I am aware that by RAI it should likely be taking damage.)
So I've been looking at making a snare-based Ranger.
Assuming the Ranger has Snare Specialist, you can Craft one with 3 Interact actions. You'd likely need a snare kit for this, but how many hands (if any) do you need to leave open?
Does a square with an undetected snare in it count as hazardous terrain for the purposes of forced movement? If so, does a trap that no one knows is there also count?
So I was working on rebuilding an old character of mine, and picked up Supernatural Charm. And then I went back and thought about it.
It's always going to be a 1st-level charm. And it has the incapacitation trait.
Isn't it going to be useless in the vast majority of situations you find yourself in, even at the level you pick it up? And it's only going to get worse from there. In order to get good use out of it, the target really has to be level 2 or lower.
You gain a single 10th-level spell slot and can prepare a spell in that slot using arcane spellcasting. Unlike with other spell slots, you don't gain more 10th-level spells as you level up, though you can take the Archwizard's Might feat to gain a second slot.
If you specialize in an arcane school, rather than studying each school equally (as universalists do), you gain an extra spell slot for each level of spell you can cast. You can prepare only spells of your chosen arcane school in these extra slots.
I know these probably aren't supposed to work together, but I can't find anything that stops it from happening. Same thing with Drain Bonded Item:
During your turn, you gain the ability to cast one spell you prepared today and already cast, without spending a spell slot.
Edit: Nothing stops this from working with spell blending as well, for 5(!!) 10th-level slots of your school. That's 5 Wishes for divination wizards.
I decided to be insane today and transcribe basically everything visible for the alchemist from the UK Games Expo video. Some of it was literally illegible - Elastic Mutagen being the big one that couldn't be referenced elsewhere - but I filled in what could be read for most of it.
Mega Bomb remains completely unreadable.
So I was curious to see how the new DCs matched up with the goal for each section in Doomsday Dawn. Here's the results for Lost Star.
A2. Mudchewer Central - “DC 8 Perception.” Context: searching the room for items. Easy level 1. Assuming everyone rolls, "You can usually skip rolling and assume the characters succeed against easy DCs unless it’s necessary for everybody to try the check." In this case, only one person needs to succeed.
These are the changes. What didn't change in Lost Star?
A6. Purification Fountain section - DC 12 Thievery to remove the idol. This doesn't align with the table at all, which is kind of weird.
So what's noticeable here? The Hard+ level 2 checks, for one, are definitely not designed for a PC group to easily do. What the change does mean, though, is that it's going to be significantly less likely for a rogue to break their picks or undo their progress, given a 18 Dex rogue now needs a 2 on the die to crit fail the locks, and a 3 on the chest.
I'm doing 1, 7, 9, 17, with the other GM in our friend group handling the other three.
A2: I did mess up Goblin Scuttle for a second, but overall it went quite well. Sorcerer tried burning hands (rolled min of 3 damage), but managed to take out one goblin and deal 1 damage to another. Sorcerer went down to 1/3 HP, and the paladin and rogue were hit once. Paladin used Lay on Hands post-combat to patch up the sorcerer a bit, along with a minor potion of healing.
A4: Crit success on the Medicine check from the druid.
A5: Both the rogue and druid succeeded in pre-planning, so the sorcerer used Produce Flame from outside the room to solve it.
A6: They spotted the idol, and the rogue used his fishing net to
A7: Early part was the rogue rushing ahead, with the druid and paladin taking up the middle...right under the trap. Goblin Pyro got off a burning hands on the frontline trio, and another set off the trap. Druid moved up to retaliate with their own burning hands, and another burning hands from the Pyro took the druid unconscious. Commando got off one solid hit to take the rogue unconscious (despite the first Retributive Strike of the game taking him to 1 HP), and both the Commando and Pyro were finished off simultaneously with an Electric Arc from the sorcerer. Paladin used three Lay on Hands in this fight - one to keep himself up, another to try and keep the rogue up, and the last to pick the druid up for an area Heal at the end.
Decently injured, they decided to grab the idol of Lamashtu to dispose of and head back for the day. This lead to...
A6, Revengeance: The quasits got a good ambush off, poisoning the sorcerer and starting on the paladin (despite a Retributive Strike). It then went downhill for them from there, as the rogue eviscerated one in a single turn. The other didn't last long afterwards, though it triggered the only Shield Block of our game.
After some rest (with the paladin preemptively burning two Lay on Hands the next day to put himself a little higher on health), they found the purified fountain and drank from it. This put everyone to near-full.
They proceeded through the eastern exit, moving south to...
A8: This was basically a comedy of errors where almost everyone refused to roll above a 6. One skeleton natural 20'd a crit for 4 damage, and that was the only hit they made in 3 rounds of swinging. Players had much the same dice issue on attacks. Heal and Burning Hands wiped out four of the skeletons in the end, with the other two going down to the rogue tripping it into a sneak attack, and the paladin shield bashing the other one.
A9: Had drank from the fountain earlier that day, so bypassed the trap.
A10: They took two attempts to get in, so Drakus was alerted. Paladin managed to beat his Stealth, and went in with Weapon Surge into a Strike that missed. Revert Form let Drakus crit the poor paladin for 19 damage, so he started after the rogue. Paladin would have died after crit failing his recovery roll, but used his Hero Point and Lay on Hands with his single remaining action. Took him another turn to get up and grab his sword again, but he got back into the fight.
Overall, I feel they enjoyed it. Paladin did feel the death/dying rules were a bit too punitive - he pretty much lost two full turns even after he'd recovered.
Druid healing: 20 damage over two Heals.
If you Force Punch a person grappling you and they fail the Fortitude save, what happens?
Do you get dragged along with them as they move back, maintaining the grapple? Do they get force-moved back, breaking the grapple?
I suppose this applies to any other type of forced movement on one of the parties as well.