| Croat-guy |
Ex-Druid (deceased), temporary Monk (deceased) and current Shadow Assassin from Polish-Jack's group in this thread.
So the other night me and my fellow adventurers were minding our own business when we were suddenly and inexplicably assailed by swarms - wasps to be specific. Neat. The clever history-major (a wizard) cast Web (Core: 368). Our intrepid English-major DM, however, ruled that Web is a grappling effect, and that the swarm subtype is immune to grapple effects (Beastiary: 312-3). Therefore, the swarms of wasps were unaffected by the web. Further, the spell Entangle (Core: 278) does affect swarms. The group consensus was confusion at the concept of insects being immune to webbing, but vulnerable to vines and grass.
What say thee, venerable rules-lawyers of Paizo forums?
ps. We still haven't resolved the Hide in Plain Sight issue.
pps. There was another minor dispute between myself and the ex-DM local ruleslawyer (a cleric). If this isn't resolved it may come down to fist-fighting, and I'm not a very strong person. So please, for my sake, resolve our dispute: The rules state that in order to cast an area-effect spell, you must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin. However, "line of effect," by definition (Core: 215), "[is] not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight." So which is it? Does "clear" imply no fog? Or can you cast a fireball into darkness/fog/etc? Further, what are the implications for casting as a blind person? It seems nonsensical to be able to cast a point-of-origin spell to a specific location if you're blind. Yet, as per the rules, this seems allowable (this is particularly relevant because his character is blind past 60ft). Is there another section we've missed?
ppps. Shadow Assassin is pretty cool, albeit underwhelming in the damage department.