| Captain Picard |
Hi everyone,
One of my regular GM's in the Pathfinder Society has ruled that when my polearm master has the spell enlarge person cast on him, he can hit targets 15 or 20 feet away with no penalty, 5 feet away with a -4 penalty, and he can't hit targets 10 feet away at all. The key word is "adjacent", as shown in the description below:
"At 2nd level, as an immediate action, a polearm master can shorten the grip on his spear or polearm with reach and use it against adjacent targets. This action results in a –4 penalty on attack rolls with that weapon until he spends another immediate action to return to the normal grip. The penalty is reduced by –1 for every four levels beyond 2nd."
I think the problem with my GM's reasoning is that the above description does not take into account the fact that my character is Large when Enlarge Person is in effect. He believes that since 10 feet away from my character is not adjacent, he can't hit a target at that distance. I think that both 5 feet and 10 feet away should be considered adjacent, as the character is Large, and takes up four x 5 foot squares, compared to a Medium creature which takes up only one 5 foot square.
Any thoughts please? I need to get this rule clarified, preferably in my favour, as I play only reach based fighters, and this ruling from my GM is crippling.
Thanks in advance,
Captain Picard.