Biaa's page

No posts. Organized Play character for Baron Set.



Sovereign Court

Ok, so I want to ensure that I'm paying attention to all possible rules concerning how the rod of wonder size reduction effect works.

From what I can find, strength and dexterity don't actually change. The polymorph subschool seems to indicate that these are changed by actual wording within the spell, and as the rod of wonder includes no such language (and isn't even technically a polymorph effect, I guess), strength and dexterity remain what they were.

However, normal size modifiers do apply (ie, +4 to attack and AC, -4 to CMB and CMD, +12 to stealth, +6 to fly). Additionally, it seems like dexterity will be used for climb and swim, as the size is under tiny. Similarly, armor will also only apply half of its benefit to AC.

Am I missing anything here? Anything I'm mistaken on? Basically the idea is for a gnome character who goes out into a field every morning and shakes the rod at a tree until he becomes diminutive. I'll also have to figure out what color he is every day, but that sort of fits the character idea.

Sovereign Court

So my group just finished playing #6-23: The Darkest Abduction, and pretty much everyone hated it. Aside from the classical issues of railroading and horrible plot coherence, there seemed to be an even bigger problem.

Spoiler:
It seems that the only way to avoid paying a ton of gold or losing prestige points is to attack a neutral, cooperative NPC. To me, attacking an NPC because you don't like the price they're asking for information seems to be an explicitly evil act. You know, like we aren't supposed to do. Apparently in this case, our options were to either A) be penalized or B) decide that the entire list of ideals of the pathfinder society should be sidelined. He was far from hostile towards us, and in fact seemed quite morally neutral as far as we could tell. Aside from that, "you owe us a favor" turning into "lose some prestige and fame" seems to be an absolutely dumb leap.

We refer to this where I play as a "Screw the PCs" scenario, and probably the worst many of us have seen. But going forward, it seems to suggest an even bigger problem.

This encounter could have best been resolved by needlessly attacking an NPC. Is this the takeaway we want here? Next time someone suggests taking a purely murder-hobo approach, I have no argument to give them. It seems that either this is purposefully designed to screw over players or that its designed to give this message.


I cannot think of a scenario that we've enjoyed less, and that is a quite extensive list to consider.

Sovereign Court

I'd like to ask for a clarification to the above situation. In the Guide version 4.3 it seems to very specifically say that

"When playing your own character, all conditions
(including death) not resolved within the scenario
or module carry beyond the end of the adventure.
Likewise, any wealth spent or resources expended
during the course of the adventure are tracked and must
be recorded on the Chronicle sheet."

(It does specify that disease must be cured and does not carry over.)

This seems rather unambiguous, but reading the baleful polymorph thread confused me, as it seemed to indicate just the opposite- that all conditions not resolved within the scenario or module instantly kill your character.

Again, this seems directly contradictory to what the guide says, and is not found in the errata.

So is the guide wrong, and any condition left at the end means death?

Sovereign Court

Ok, I have a question about a specific issue I've encountered. I'm not sure if this is the place to post it, but here goes.

If I have a character that only takes 1 level of Oracle, my understanding is that he is then able to use spell-activation items (scrolls, wands) of the spells that are on the oracle class list, regardless of spell level, without a UMD check. In other words, even with only a single level of oracle he could use a wand of cure moderate wounds.

But what about spells that are not on the spell list normally, but are related to your mystery? Say I pick the battle mystery, which adds enlarge person at level 2. Can I use a wand of enlarge person at level 1, or does it get "added" to my spell list at level 2?

Thanks in advance for the help!