Askaran's page

Organized Play Member. 5 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 7 Organized Play characters.




As i was reading through the Demoralize Action the -4 Penalty for if you are not speaking a language, or the target does not understand your language, struck me odd.

Demoralize (Single Action)

Auditory Concentrate Emotion Mental

With a sudden shout, a well-timed taunt, or a cutting put-down, you can shake an enemy’s resolve. Choose a creature within 30 feet of you who you’re aware of. Attempt an Intimidation check against that target’s Will DC. If the target does not understand the language you are speaking, you’re not speaking a language, or they can’t hear you, you take a –4 circumstance penalty to the check. Regardless of your result, the target is temporarily immune to your attempts to Demoralize it for 10 minutes.

Critical Success The target becomes frightened 2.
Success The target becomes frightened 1.
(CRB p. 247)

For example an actual Bear growling and standing up looking big and intimidating would get a -4 on his Intimidation roll against a Human.

But, say a Human, made to look and sound like the same bear would not gain the -4 to his roll. Even though, to the target, there is a bear doing this.

Going by the same rules an Animal (e.g. Bear) demoralizing another animal (e.g. Cat) of a different species would fall for the -4 penalty as the Bear does not speak a language/ the cat does not understand 'Bear'.

This ruling would also imply that generally no creature would understand 'basic body language'.


can a synthesist use, while fused with my Eidolon, Multiattack as described in the Multiattack feat?

The rules for Synthesist say:

The synthesist also gains access to the eidolon's special abilities and the eidolon's evolutions. [...] The eidolon has no skills or feats of its own.
On level 9 the Eidolon gains the Multiattack Special Ability, which says:

Multiattack: An eidolon gains Multiattack as a bonus feat if it has 3 or more natural attacks and does not already have that feat. If it does not have the requisite 3 or more natural attacks (or it is reduced to less than 3 attacks), the eidolon instead gains a second attack with one of its natural weapons, albeit at a –5 penalty. If the eidolon later gains 3 or more natural attacks, it loses this additional attack and instead gains Multiattack.


Hey. I'm playing a Synthesist Summoner Gnome and want to select the Feat "Power Attack". The Gnome itself has an STR of 6, but while fused i'd have an STR of 16 (from a normal sized biped Eidolon), which'd mean i'd have the prerequisits of STR 13 and BAB +1 for Power Attack fulfilled in the fused form.
My question is: Am i able to select that feat?