Algunillo's page

7 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Project Image is a 6th level bardic spell (7th level for wizards), which creates a quasi-real image of the caster and allows them to cast spells through it.

The first paragraph of the spell's description reads as follows:

"You tap energy from the Plane of Shadow to create a quasi-real, illusory version of yourself. The projected image looks, sounds, and smells like you but is intangible. The projected image mimics your actions (including speech) unless you direct it to act differently (which is a move action)."

So my question is, can a bard use their bardic performance through a project image, since the image mimics the actions of the caster? The fact that even spells can be cast through it suggests that the magic of a bardic performance could also be transmitted.


So, my munchkin player insists in that, since a summoned creature does not have a turn as such, and it is limited to take a maximum of two actions *per turn* (not per round), then his wizard may use an action to concentrate and give the creature two actions, then ready a concentrate action with any trivial trigger, thus giving the creature two additional actions that round.

This would work by strictly following RAW, since the readied action takes place in someone else's turn. However, it could not apply to minions, since they *do* have their own turn.

I believe this is just nastily taking advantage of the extremely poor wording of the Rulebook, but being it a playtest, I am trying to follow RAW as closely as possible. What do you people think?

In addition, he claims that the multiattack penalty for the summoned creature would not be carried on to those additional two actions. According to RAW, your multiattack penalty resets at the end of your turn, the exception being when you ready an attack action. In this case, the summoned creature does not have a turn, and it is not the one readying an action. Anyway, it seems to me just straightforward commonsense that the penalty should be carried on (assuming the situation were even possible, of course).


For some reason, I have not been able to find this anywhere: Take Bob the 16th sorcerer with a 12 Charisma score. He cannot cast any spell of 3rd level or higher (does he know them, though? That is another question).

Now he gets a headband of charisma +6 and has an 18 Charisma score. Can he cast now spells up to 8th level, assuming he knows them? Or can he learn them now?

But to focus in the main doubt I have, let us suppose he gets the headband just two days before reaching 16th, so he levels up when the bonus granted by the headband is already permanent. Can he then learn and cast 8th level spells? That is, does the enhancement bonus from the headband allow the character to learn and cast spells of higher levels, if his/her class level would permit it?

My common sense says no, he can't. But Pathfinder is quite permissive regarding enhancement bonuses, as compared with D&D up to 3.5. I have a new player wanting to do (almost) exactly what I described, and I do not want to forbid it if RAW allow it.