Spell Resistance


Rules Questions


Does spell resistance from multiple sources stack?

For example, if I had a character sheet for an Asimar from when they were still allowed (I understand they're not anymore) with Celestial Resistance who was a monk who at level 13 gained Diamond Soul... would the two stack?

__________________________

Exalted Reistance

An assimar with this racial trait grants spell resistance equal to 5 + her level against spells and spell-like abilities with the evil descriptor, as well as any spells and spell-like abilities cast by evil outsiders. This racial trait replaces celestial resistance - Advanced Race Guide
___________________________

Diamond Soul

At 13th level, a monk gains spell resistance equal to his current monk level + 10. In order to affect the monk with a spell, a spellcaster must get a result on a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) that equals or exceeds the monk's spell resistance.


What do you think stacking would mean in this context?

If you added the two numbers together, you would usually get ridiculously high spell resistance. It would be like saying, "My AC with a heavy shield is 12, and my AC with a chain shirt is 14. They stack, so if I wear both my AC will be 26."


As they are two bonuses that do the same-ish thing, you would use the larger of the two.

Silver Crusade

They would not stack. You would use the higher one at all times, which, in pathfinder society play, is the exalted resistance, because you're not going to be getting a 13th level monk anytime soon, since technically all 12th level characters are mostly retired.

Grand Lodge

Kevin Jones wrote:
They would not stack. You would use the higher one at all times, which, in pathfinder society play, is the exalted resistance, because you're not going to be getting a 13th level monk anytime soon, since technically all 12th level characters are mostly retired.

Just because you do not see the Seekers does not mean we are not out there, looking out for the field agents, keeping the Ten accountable...


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
DM Livgin wrote:
As they are two bonuses that do the same-ish thing, you would use the larger of the two.

Ah, but spell resistance isn't usually a bonus at all -- it is a set number. If some hypothetical game element gave you a "+1 bonus to your spell resistance", it would be an untyped bonus that stacks with any other such bonuses. However, if you have spell resistance 5 from one source and spell resistance 10 from another, you would just use the larger base value of 10.

Silver Crusade

Joe the Devout wrote:
Kevin Jones wrote:
They would not stack. You would use the higher one at all times, which, in pathfinder society play, is the exalted resistance, because you're not going to be getting a 13th level monk anytime soon, since technically all 12th level characters are mostly retired.
Just because you do not see the Seekers does not mean we are not out there, looking out for the field agents, keeping the Ten accountable...

I said MOSTLY retired. Now go on back to your villa on the plane of Air, old timer. Leave getting into the Chronicles to the recently-Confirmed.

Grand Lodge

Actually own a tavern on Akiton, permits were a nightmare to get but it is an escape from Golarion politics.


Thanks!

Scarab Sages

Martain wrote:
Does spell resistance from multiple sources stack?

Unfortunately, you only apply the highest SR that you possess.

If you did have it from multiple sources, it might "stack" with regard to suppressing your SR in order to purposely let spells through. You'd still only apply the highest, but I think if you had two sources, suppressing one, would leave the other still intact...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Resistance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.