Blessings question


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

Grand Lodge

"Blessing of the Gods" has "You may instead treat this card as if it were identical to the top card of the blessings discard pile"

All the "Blessing of <specific god>" cards I have seen have "If the top card of the discard pile matches this card, recharge this card instead of discarding it"

This seems to imply that if you have a "Blessing of the Gods" in hand, and a "Blessing of Desna" on the discard pile, you may pretend "Blessing of the gods" is a "Blessing of Desna", both for using the Desna ability, and for recharging it. This feels a bit more rules-lawyer-ish than I would expect for something that would be happening rather frequently. (To be fair, I have seen much worse in MTG)

Is this the intended interaction?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

This was posted by Mike on another forum for card games.

SNIP -

No, that's not the way it works. The card can either copy the text of the top card of the blessings deck discard pile, or have its own. But if it's taking the text of a Blessing of Calistria, it is not *actually* that card. So it doesn't "match" the card, because it is not the card itself.

We have discovered at least one other occasion where we need to add in the bizarre rule "Cards' abilities cannot trigger their own abilities." So we'll be closing off these apparent loopholes soon.
- Mike Selinker

- SNIP

Also This

SNIP -

Sure, no problem.

Let's say I have a Blessing of the Gods (BotG) in my hand. A Blessing of Calistria (BoC) is on top of the blessings deck discard pile.
If I play the BotG as "itself," I can get +1 die or +1 exploration.
If I instead play the BotG to copy the BoC, I can get +1 die, +1 exploration, or +2 dice on a non-combat Dexterity check.
Its power used, I now go to the discard step of the card play.
I then discard the BotG, because it is *not* a BoC, and thus does not match the BoC atop the blessings deck discard pile.

Now, let's instead say I have a BoC in my hand, and another BoC is atop the blessings deck discard pile.
I play the BoC, for +1 die, +1 exploration, or +2 dice on a non-combat Dexterity check.
Now it does match, so instead of discarding my BoC, I recharge it (put in under my deck).

Does that clarify things? If not, please tell me where you think the problem is.

Mike

SNIP -

FULL LINK .

Grand Lodge

Makes sense. Thanks for the reply.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Blessings question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion