Creature Special ability Draconic Frenzy


Rules Discussion

Silver Crusade

Don't know if there is another thread talking about special abilities or not. I looked threw the core book and the bestiary and still couldn't really find answer to my question. So some dragons have a special ability called Draconic Frenzy that takes 2 actions and lets the creature makes 3 attacks a fang strike and 2 tail swipes. Now with the ability being 2 actions do all 3 attacks rolls take the -5 from using 2 actions or does it just use 2 actions and all the attacks are rolled as if they where the first action with no negative.

P.S. If you know where this ruling is specified in the core-book or bestiary please leave the page number so i know where ti find the information thanks


I believe you apply MAP to each strike as they occur unless the ability states otherwise. Since draconic frenzy does not, apply map as normal.

This is why the ability allows you to use the attacks in whatever order you choose.

So attack #1 is at -0, #2 is at -5 and #3 is at -10. Barring any agile attacks or other modifiers.


beowulf99 wrote:

I believe you apply MAP to each strike as they occur unless the ability states otherwise. Since draconic frenzy does not, apply map as normal.

This is why the ability allows you to use the attacks in whatever order you choose.

So attack #1 is at -0, #2 is at -5 and #3 is at -10. Barring any agile attacks or other modifiers.

This is correct. Abilities that make exceptions to MAP will specifically say so, and there are tons of monsters that have that language. Draconic Frenzy does not.

Grand Archive

Jingle-Beard wrote:

Don't know if there is another thread talking about special abilities or not. I looked threw the core book and the bestiary and still couldn't really find answer to my question. So some dragons have a special ability called Draconic Frenzy that takes 2 actions and lets the creature makes 3 attacks a fang strike and 2 tail swipes. Now with the ability being 2 actions do all 3 attacks rolls take the -5 from using 2 actions or does it just use 2 actions and all the attacks are rolled as if they where the first action with no negative.

P.S. If you know where this ruling is specified in the core-book or bestiary please leave the page number so i know where ti find the information thanks

I also just want to point out a fallacy here. The attack penalty (under normal rules) should be based on how many attacks have been made this round and not how many actions are used in an attack. So the amount of actions the move takes is not really as significant as how many attacks have already been done.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Creature Special ability Draconic Frenzy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.