
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Thanks, TOZ, for making sure it gets into the new Guide. For myself, I will start allowing rerolls on nat 1's, based on John's comments on Facebook (which somebody showed me - I don't go to the PFS Facebook page any more... that way madness lies.) I picked up the habit at my first PaizoCon, when it was done at my table... back when I was young and impressionable, I guess!

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I think it has stuck for the folks who play the card game, and for the Paizo folks who want to push the card game. I don't think it has changed in the minds of the vast number of PFS'ers, though.
But then, we changed the name of our museum here 20+ years ago, and still get referred to by the old name.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Steven Schopmeyer wrote:Not a clarification but... is that name sticking at all?The VO team responsible for Roleplaying Guild Guide...
Hmmm, My File for the most recent guide I name Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play 7-0 not Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide 7-0. That would cause all type of alphabetical order problems!

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

FiddlersGreen wrote:Can a rail gun be used with either dead shot, vital strike or both?Dead Shot says firearm and the rail gun is Heavy Weaponry. Vital Strike doesn't care about such things. This is more a rules forum thing I believe though.
It's been asked before, but with varying opinions, hence why a ruling for PFS would be welcome. Hence why I asked it in this thread.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Ragoz wrote:It's been asked before, but with varying opinions, hence why a ruling for PFS would be welcome. Hence why I asked it in this thread.FiddlersGreen wrote:Can a rail gun be used with either dead shot, vital strike or both?Dead Shot says firearm and the rail gun is Heavy Weaponry. Vital Strike doesn't care about such things. This is more a rules forum thing I believe though.
I'm surprised there would be another opinion considering if it wasn't the case than techslinger's 11th level ability would be useless.
Heavy Weaponry Deeds (Ex) At 11th level, as long as the techslinger has at least 1 grit point, she can treat a heavy weapon as a firearm for the purpose of using deeds

![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Can the grit from the Amateur Swashbuckler feat be used for deeds obtained from Gunslinger class levels?
For that matter, there's a number of corner cases like that. Can a Spirit Guide Oracle take Extra Hex? Can a skald take Extra Rage Power and share it via his raging song? Can an inquisitor or cleric take an animal domain? Can a ninja take rogue archetypes? Those can be fundamental parts of a build and they're all ETV, as far as I can tell.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

FiddlersGreen wrote:Can the grit from the Amateur Swashbuckler feat be used for deeds obtained from Gunslinger class levels?For that matter, there's a number of corner cases like that. Can a Spirit Guide Oracle take Extra Hex? Can a skald take Extra Rage Power and share it via his raging song? Can an inquisitor or cleric take an animal domain? Can a ninja take rogue archetypes? Those can be fundamental parts of a build and they're all ETV, as far as I can tell.
I can't answer most of these, but the question about inquisitors and clerics is pretty straightforward. They can take any domain offered by their deity. To my knowledge, none of them offer the druid animal domains, so you won't see any clerics or inquisitors with those domains.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

FiddlersGreen wrote:Ragoz wrote:It's been asked before, but with varying opinions, hence why a ruling for PFS would be welcome. Hence why I asked it in this thread.FiddlersGreen wrote:Can a rail gun be used with either dead shot, vital strike or both?Dead Shot says firearm and the rail gun is Heavy Weaponry. Vital Strike doesn't care about such things. This is more a rules forum thing I believe though.I'm surprised there would be another opinion considering if it wasn't the case than techslinger's 11th level ability would be useless.
Quote:Heavy Weaponry Deeds (Ex) At 11th level, as long as the techslinger has at least 1 grit point, she can treat a heavy weapon as a firearm for the purpose of using deeds
Ragoz, I think the question revovles more around the fact that firing a rail gun is a full round action rather than a standard action, and whether this prevents it from being used with Dead Shot and/or Vital Strike.
Dead Shot says he "makes as many attack rolls as she can, based on her base attack bonus". Based on BAB, you should be able to take at least 2 attacks based on BAB on a full attack when you get this deed, but regardless of BAB you can only fire a rail gun once per round, so that can be read either way.
Vital strike might be a little less ambiguous, since it simply references taking an 'attack action'. In the case of a rail gun, an attack action is a full round, but this might just mean that you can take a full round action to make a vital strike attack with a rail gun.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

The Rondelero Swashbuckler archetype has an ability called 'Falcata Emphasis' that gives 'proficiency in falcatas'. Does this count as having the feat 'Exotic Weapon Proficiency (falcata)' for the purpose of things that have the latter as a prerequisite?
EDIT: After further consideration, this isn't as ambiguous as I first thought, and the answer is firmly in the 'yes' camp (see evidence at link above). Consider the request for clarification withdrawn ;-)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

FiddlersGreen wrote:Can the grit from the Amateur Swashbuckler feat be used for deeds obtained from Gunslinger class levels?For that matter, there's a number of corner cases like that. Can a Spirit Guide Oracle take Extra Hex? Can a skald take Extra Rage Power and share it via his raging song? Can an inquisitor or cleric take an animal domain? Can a ninja take rogue archetypes? Those can be fundamental parts of a build and they're all ETV, as far as I can tell.
It would be good to clarify that Skalds cannot share rage powers gained from the Extra Rage Power feat.

![]() |

TomG wrote:Did a quick scan, and didn't see this one mentioned yet: Humans trying to take Racial Heritagae(kitsune) and Fox Shape feats.That one is an absolute no for pfs. Fox shape is only available in the additional resources to kitsune, so whether you see it as a seperate ability or an add on to change shape is irrelevant, it doesn't work in PFS.
(see note above about racial heritage needing a BIG asterix)
I agree with you. But not everyone does.
The argument goes something like "Racial Heritage(Kitsune)" is written that a character counts as Kitsune for the purposes of taking feats, thus, they count as Kitsune for the purposes of Additional Resources restricting feats to Kitsune characters (because they "are" a Kitsune character for the purpose of feats). As I said, I disagree with the reasoning. Still, many threads have argued for pages (and even seen locks) on this issue.
But as the point of this thread is to bring up questions that clarity would assist, instead of offering your opinion on the answer, I'd appreciate support in convincing the powers that be to address the question. :-)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

But as the point of this thread is to bring up questions that clarity would assist, instead of offering your opinion on the answer, I'd appreciate support in convincing the powers that be to address the question. :-)
At that level of rules lawyering shennanigans its not clarity they're looking for.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
re-posting the thread purpose (as I see it)
...
Reading thru the Blog post I notice the following point of interest...... Pathfinder Society Campaign Clarifications Document...
...Pathfinder Society characters have many options....
...some of these options can be interpreted in different ways...
...these ambiguities can lead to substantially different rules interpretations from table to table...
...created this document to ...
...provide an equitable gaming experience to players all over the world. The Clarifications Document is a centralized place for us to offer official rulings for ambiguous rules.......these are not official errata...
...principally addresses rules material that appears in softcover sources...rather than the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game hardcover books. ......What rules ambiguities have you seen in your Pathfinder Society games that you would like to see resolved?
SO, it looks like this post is mainly dealing with "rules ambiguities" when dealing with PFS Character options in softcover books. Is that correct?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

re-posting the thread purpose (as I see it)
nosig wrote:...
Reading thru the Blog post I notice the following point of interest...... Pathfinder Society Campaign Clarifications Document...
...Pathfinder Society characters have many options....
...some of these options can be interpreted in different ways...
...these ambiguities can lead to substantially different rules interpretations from table to table...
...created this document to ...
...provide an equitable gaming experience to players all over the world. The Clarifications Document is a centralized place for us to offer official rulings for ambiguous rules.......these are not official errata...
...principally addresses rules material that appears in softcover sources...rather than the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game hardcover books. ......What rules ambiguities have you seen in your Pathfinder Society games that you would like to see resolved?
SO, it looks like this post is mainly dealing with "rules ambiguities" when dealing with PFS Character options in softcover books. Is that correct?
No. Its any material.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
nosig wrote:No. Its any material.re-posting the thread purpose (as I see it)
nosig wrote:...
Reading thru the Blog post I notice the following point of interest...... Pathfinder Society Campaign Clarifications Document...
...Pathfinder Society characters have many options....
...some of these options can be interpreted in different ways...
...these ambiguities can lead to substantially different rules interpretations from table to table...
...created this document to ...
...provide an equitable gaming experience to players all over the world. The Clarifications Document is a centralized place for us to offer official rulings for ambiguous rules.......these are not official errata...
...principally addresses rules material that appears in softcover sources...rather than the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game hardcover books. ......What rules ambiguities have you seen in your Pathfinder Society games that you would like to see resolved?
SO, it looks like this post is mainly dealing with "rules ambiguities" when dealing with PFS Character options in softcover books. Is that correct?
Why do you think that?
Where does it say it deals with anything other than what it says it deals with?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

MadScientistWorking wrote:nosig wrote:No. Its any material.re-posting the thread purpose (as I see it)
nosig wrote:...
Reading thru the Blog post I notice the following point of interest...... Pathfinder Society Campaign Clarifications Document...
...Pathfinder Society characters have many options....
...some of these options can be interpreted in different ways...
...these ambiguities can lead to substantially different rules interpretations from table to table...
...created this document to ...
...provide an equitable gaming experience to players all over the world. The Clarifications Document is a centralized place for us to offer official rulings for ambiguous rules.......these are not official errata...
...principally addresses rules material that appears in softcover sources...rather than the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game hardcover books. ......What rules ambiguities have you seen in your Pathfinder Society games that you would like to see resolved?
SO, it looks like this post is mainly dealing with "rules ambiguities" when dealing with PFS Character options in softcover books. Is that correct?
Why do you think that?
Where does it say it deals with anything other than what it says it deals with?
The Clarifications Document principally addresses rules material that appears in softcover sources such as the Pathfinder Campaign Setting and Pathfinder Player Companion lines, rather than the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game hardcover books.
Note that this does not prohibit them from dealing (or having to deal) with rules ambiguities that crop up when using softcover books and rules interactions with material in hardcover sources.
Example: Wand Wielder arcana for the Magus. Explicitly allows the Magus to use Spell Combat with a wand. Does not cover the interactions with Spellstrike, if the spell would be one that could normally be used to Spellstrike with, like a wand of Shocking Grasp.
Do you have to track the source of a spell, on later rounds, to note if the Magus has to use a non-weapon touch attack with it, or a regular weapon Spellstrike with it, even if the spell is on their list, if it was cast from a wand, staff, scroll, or other class spell slot?
How about if the spell came from a spell storing item, that the Magus originally cast the spell into? How does that work with Spellstrike?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

At that level of rules lawyering shennanigans its not clarity they're looking for.
See, the thing is, based on the actual material, those that disagree with you see YOUR view as the one that jumping through all sorts of rules lawyering hoops and pulling shenanigans to push their own agenda.
There was already at least 1 massive thread about this subject, and while I appreciate you having made up your mind on what anyone that reads the same things you do and has a different view or ruling on what it says, some people would actually just like to not have table variation on this or similar things.
So, again, can we please stop trying to skew things with personal points of view and agenda and let it be decided upon based on it's own merits.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

MadScientistWorking wrote:nosig wrote:No. Its any material.re-posting the thread purpose (as I see it)
nosig wrote:...
Reading thru the Blog post I notice the following point of interest...... Pathfinder Society Campaign Clarifications Document...
...Pathfinder Society characters have many options....
...some of these options can be interpreted in different ways...
...these ambiguities can lead to substantially different rules interpretations from table to table...
...created this document to ...
...provide an equitable gaming experience to players all over the world. The Clarifications Document is a centralized place for us to offer official rulings for ambiguous rules.......these are not official errata...
...principally addresses rules material that appears in softcover sources...rather than the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game hardcover books. ......What rules ambiguities have you seen in your Pathfinder Society games that you would like to see resolved?
SO, it looks like this post is mainly dealing with "rules ambiguities" when dealing with PFS Character options in softcover books. Is that correct?
Why do you think that?
Where does it say it deals with anything other than what it says it deals with?
Because I read the document and it deals with any confusing material present up and including stuff from Occult Adventures which is a hardcover book. Mind you Occult Adventures is probably a one off scenario but there is a lot of weirdly confusing stuff in there that would have pretty drastic table variation. For example, the Promethean Alchemist needs rules for bleeding yourself (Given somewhere in the forum simple enough), needs elaboration because of typography errors (The chart doesn't match text. Simple enough to go with text but still worth elaborating), and Im not sure if the homunculus damages the Alchemist upon its death like the monster entry says.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

![]() ![]() |

Don't know if it's been pointed out yet, but signifer (as in Hellknight Signifer) is misspelled as signifier. Personal pet peeve.
I've been pronouncing it "sig-ni-fi-er" this entire time.
Oops. ^_^
(Although, as I write this, I note that spellcheck flags signifer but is OK with signifier. Maybe that's the cause...)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Maybe get a ruling on how harrow decks can be enchanted for use with the Deadly Dealer feat?
1. What special materials can decks be made out of? Standard decks of playing cards mention that they could be made of a variety of materials including thin sheets of metal, but harrow decks only mention parchment and paper.
2. Does the fact that the decks are enchanted as ranged weapons with 54 pieces of ammunition change the pricing at all? Since ammunition is usually enchanted in lots of 50.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

James Anderson wrote:I'd like a clarification on how the Whirlwind monster ability works.What about it seems unclear?
For starters:
"Creatures one or more size categories smaller than the whirlwind "
it doesn't say one or more sizes smaller than the creature. It says one or more sizes smaller than the whirlwind. So how big is the whirlwind?
We can sort of back engineer the answer from the storm kindler prestige class which gets the ability to whirlwind at different sizes at different levels, and lists what size they can pick up at different levels.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
And the whole "I whirlwind the Barbarian 40ft towards the enemy, drop him, and he full attacks".
90 feet. Air elementals have a 100 fly speed.
And you are forgetting "That's my move action, So for my standard I ready an action and if anyone trys to hit him I whirlwind him back out of danger"
:P
Lets be honest, is it really any worse than a pouncing natural attack barbarian?

![]() |

I'd like clarification on the Inspire Imitation Alternate Trait (from Heroes of the Streets.) As far as I can tell, it's PFS legal... Except it's not because it replaces a racial trait that Half-Elves don't have.
Here is my thread on the issue.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I use a storm kindler, so these questions (and those above) have come up.
Also on what people are allowed to do while in a whirlwind? It says they can't move, not that they can't take a move action. Does this mean only purely mental actions, with the listed spellcasting penalty? Seems unlikely as they have penalties to attack rolls.
What limits (besides no "normal" attacks) are applied to the user's actions? What is their condition? (Incorporeal, elemental traits, what about their AC + wild armor, etc).
I've normally wild shaped into something Huge for the strength bonus - does my current size/shape impact anything? Per Storm Kindler: aside from the strength increase, none of it changes anything. I'm still a 5x15x30 frustrum. But for other things that somehow get it (could an air elemental be polymorphed into something and still have its ability? IDK)
Do people without flying get any sort of save to get out once captured?
It says you don't provoke attacks of opportunity - is that only for movement, or period?
Since it's moving through a square to hit someone, there's nothing preventing you from moving back and forward through their square multiple times until you successfully pick them up. Some GM's dislike this concept.
The volume of a 5'd x 15'd x 30'h frustrum is 2550 cubic feet. The volume of a medium creature is 5x5x5 = 125 cubic feet. So in theory I can carry just over 20 people. Or is the calculation different somehow?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
When using armor with the Wild enchantment while Wild Shaped into something that flies, does the armor prevent you from flying per the barding rules? What about for shapes with magical flight like air elementals?
It shouldn't do. Armour on its own does not prevent flight. You would be taking the ACP to your fly skill. Medium or Heavy Barding would prevent a flying mount from flying but armour is not barding and widlshaped druids are not mounts.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Psychic-bloodline sorcerer - is it still an "arcane spellcasting class"?
Is 'arcane spellcaster class' defined independently of the bloodline arcana? Is the psychic sorcerer a psychic-caster, arcane caster or both for the purposes of items and abilities that refer to one or the other?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Does a tattooed mystic gain Inscribe Magical Tattoo and the ability to use it? See this thread.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

How much does it cost to Lead line a container
Many detects and other effects are blocked by a thin lining of lead. Yet there are no rules for actually getting a box, sheath, or other container lined in lead, so only NPCs can use that tactic.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Did a quick scan, and didn't see this one mentioned yet: Humans trying to take Racial Heritagae(kitsune) and Fox Shape feats.
To be honest, I would like to be able to take other race feats as long as it is available in the Additional Resources, even for boon races. The Goblin feats in particular should be opened up for those taking Racial Heritage or Adopted for the Traits.
But for the specific, the character would still need a way to effect the change, shapeshifting is not given to the character by the feat alone. (only a new form for the Shapeshifting is). The clarification about Tail Slap and the interaction between Racial Heritage and unusual combonations should be clarified, but I am thinking it should be a regular FAQ, with an ongoing list of race feats/traits that have abilities not inferred to characters without abilities that the feat is based on and uses. (Not giving a tail to a human, for example)
Going into a different subject, I think a clarification that the race traits (Racial?) are no longer a part of the four basic categories since Ultimate Campaign needs to be addressed. (I currently have my second Tengu with Adopted(Gnome) with Etymologist gnome trait)