Larva of the Outer Gods Liberated Flesh ability


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So im playing Strange Aeons and there is a creature called the Larva of the Outer Gods.
It has the Liberated Flesh ability that turns a creature into a chaos beast that can be returned to its original form through a break enchantment, limited wish, miracle, or wish spell.

If the transformed creature gets killed can they be resurrected back to its true form or does it stay a dead Chaos Beast?


Polymorphing doesn't purge conditions and "dead" is a condition. Arguably, a character may be able to effectively be healed by the change (as their base form has more Con than the Beast's 16), but note that would not bring the character back from death by the same logic that casting bear's endurance on a dead PC doesn't bring them back either.

The good news is that dismembering the polymorphed beast won't affect the body of the dead player... I guess.


yonman17 wrote:

So im playing Strange Aeons and there is a creature called the Larva of the Outer Gods.

It has the Liberated Flesh ability that turns a creature into a chaos beast that can be returned to its original form through a break enchantment, limited wish, miracle, or wish spell.

If the transformed creature gets killed can they be resurrected back to its true form or does it stay a dead Chaos Beast?

To be clear there are two powers which must be failed in series; a)MadSong{performance} then b)LibFlsh.

there's no clear duration given on either (unlike a bard's rounds of performance) AND no spell equivalence (like Magical Beast Shape:T7) but CL=15.

In short you answered your own question.

Roll your Know(arcana) check and don't click if you don't have the skill...:

A polymorph effect is generally on a willing creature. When a creature dies it generally becomes an object/corpse and thus the spell effect would end. Remember that polymorph does not change the creature's type, just sets what abilities it gets from the laundry list in the appropriate spell, so they are still humanoid (human) if they started as such. Chaos Beast CR:7 med outsider 9HD.
In this case the Home GM could have the polymorph effect persist and require PC's provide a prescribed remedy as part of the CR15 challenge though I think the dead should revert. There is no duration given in the description and the write up makes it seem permanent. The other option is it persists within the radius and for the duration of the larva's performance. Killing the larva should also end its performance.
Once the PC is a corpse it actually makes things easier as they are subject to gentle repose, shrink item, storage in extradimensional spaces or spare sacks, ohhhh and a caster who has used invigorating repose & breath of life or those First Aid Gloves [hands] $4500. I believe creatures with an ongoing polymorph are immune to a new polymorph effect.
=====

For CR15 or an Average Party Level(APL) of 12 Break Enchantment:A5 is doable within a day as it is on many spell lists and the DC is beatable.

  what if my PC failed both and turned into himself, I know, scary...and here I was all mister shiny and friendly...

Liberty's Edge

Unless it says otherwise in its description, a Polymorph effect should stay active on a corpse until its duration expires.
A spell doesn't recheck if it is affecting a valid target after it has been cast (again, unless its specific description says otherwise).


Diego Rossi wrote:

Unless it says otherwise in its description, a Polymorph effect should stay active on a corpse until its duration expires.

A spell doesn't recheck if it is affecting a valid target after it has been cast (again, unless its specific description says otherwise).

with that simply put the dead chaos beasts in a bag of holding and cast True Resurrection to get your friends back. Use an Antimagic Field to get their stuff off the corpses. Once the antimagic ends cast Create Greater Undead on the corpses to get your permanently transformed devourer chaos beast(s) under your command. Just don't ever cast Break Enchantment on them... they are basically immune to future exposure to the Larva's Maddening Song and Liberated Flesh effects.

Liberty's Edge

Unbegreiflich wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:

Unless it says otherwise in its description, a Polymorph effect should stay active on a corpse until its duration expires.

A spell doesn't recheck if it is affecting a valid target after it has been cast (again, unless its specific description says otherwise).
with that simply put the dead chaos beasts in a bag of holding and cast True Resurrection to get your friends back. Use an Antimagic Field to get their stuff off the corpses. Once the antimagic ends cast Create Greater Undead on the corpses to get your permanently transformed devourer chaos beast(s) under your command. Just don't ever cast Break Enchantment on them... they are basically immune to future exposure to the Larva's Maddening Song and Liberated Flesh effects.
Resurrection wrote:
This spell functions like raise dead, except that you can resurrect a creature that has been dead for as long as 10 years per caster level. This spell can even bring back creatures whose bodies have been destroyed, provided that you unambiguously identify the deceased in some fashion (reciting the deceased's time and place of birth or death is the most common method).

The body hasn't been destroyed, and the spell target says "dead creature touched".

I don't think you will create a new body by hiding the original one in a bag of holding.
Either the spell fails because you aren't touching the existing body, or it revives the existing body.

It is interesting to note that True Resurrection doesn't say where the new body replacing a destroyed one will appear. As it has a range of touch, I suppose it will appear in touch range.

Then there is the little problem that you are assuming that the Antimagic Field suppression effect will revert the transformation into chaos beast. I fail to see where it says it will do that. The interaction between Antimagic and permanent effects is tricky, but AFAIK it doesn't reverse, even temporarily, permanent changes that require specific spells to be overcome.
To make an example, energy drain is an SU effect, but being in an antimagic field doesn't temporarily suppress it.


Diego Rossi wrote:

Unless it says otherwise in its description, a Polymorph effect should stay active on a corpse until its duration expires.

A spell doesn't recheck if it is affecting a valid target after it has been cast (again, unless its specific description says otherwise).

Okay, so hypothetically if this transformation into a chaos beast is permanent and the individual transformed is killed, does casting Raise Dead turn him/her back into his original form or do you raise a chaos beast?


yonman17 wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:

Unless it says otherwise in its description, a Polymorph effect should stay active on a corpse until its duration expires.

A spell doesn't recheck if it is affecting a valid target after it has been cast (again, unless its specific description says otherwise).
Okay, so hypothetically if this transformation into a chaos beast is permanent and the individual transformed is killed, does casting Raise Dead turn him/her back into his original form or do you raise a chaos beast?

The dead creatures is a dead chaos beast. Raise dead does not remove the polymorph effect, so it raises a chaos beast.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Larva of the Outer Gods Liberated Flesh ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions