What Minimum level to fight a Tarrasque and win?


Advice


I am crafting a campaign (We Just Started) where the last big boss battle will be the party of 5 vs a Tarrasque.

I want this battle to be epic, but I don’t want the party to instantly die or them to kill it super fast.

So What Minimum level to fight a Tarrasque and win?

I am fine with giving the mythic ranks as well.


Well my group and I fight the tarrasque only 2 time 1 at lvl 18 the other at lvl 21. It's mostly impossible to kill it you can only force him to go slumber and you will need at least 3 minor artifact weapon +6 to bypass his damage reduction

Liberty's Edge

Theoricrafting, as my group hasn't ever fought it.

It is extremely variable, depending on the characters' builds. And there are 2 slightly different versions of the Tarrasque, the one in the Bestiary and the one in Inner Sea Gods. The Inner Sea Gods has the Spawn of Rovagug subtype with the hibernation, regeneration, and unstoppable rules.

In an open field, 2 flying gunslingers with +4 magical beast bane rifles could bypass its DR and deal enough damage to beat its regeneration 40. At 80 or more feet into the air, they would be outside melee range. They would need a dedicated healer for each of them, someone able to cure the damage from the spine volley in one round.
Then you would need someone with Transmute Rock to Mud to entomb it while it is unconscious and force it into hibernation.

Not easy, but a purposely built group could do that at level 13. I doubt it will be a fun campaign.

A more normal group? They would need the ability to tank something like 200 hp/round, several +4 bane weapons, or minor artifacts, and again a way to force it into hibernation while dealing with its SR of 36 and carapace. That means something like level 18.

As you see, it hugely builds dependant.


yea. before the unstoppable ability was added in the Inner sea Gods it could have been stopped in it's tracks by a Nagaji using the spit venom feat tree. (specifically the aoe and tangling feats). forcing it ether to stay put or spend a whole round to get free.

my level 2 venomblade fighter was proud to say he can stop the Tarrasque in place (for a round)
-and then they went and upped his states...


It has a +2 to sense motive. You just need to speak aklo and bluff it into leaving.


we encountered one back when we were playing DnD 2.0 we just cast reverse gravity under it twice and sent it into space...

Reverse gravity can be cast at 13th level.....

The Exchange

As Diego said, it’s very build-dependent. There are three main questions:
1. Do the players know they will be fighting the Tarrasque?
2. Do the characters have any way to know about the Tarrasque’s abilities?
3. Will the players have a chance to build their characters (feats, equipment, etc.) towards defeating the Tarrasque?

If the answer to any of those questions is “no” then the fight could be difficult even for high-teens characters. If the party is “let’s build Tarrasque-killers!” then the levels could be a lot lower. Especially with ranged characters. A distance longbow easily outranges the maximum range of the spines. A 9th-level archer with Rapid Shot, Many Shot, Clustered Shot can easily do more than 55 points of damage a round. So let’s use three of them. And a sorcerer to ready dimension door if the Tarrasque does get close. Then it’s just a matter of buffing their attack bonus as high as possible. Haste, heroism, etc. Make the 5th party member a bard. Spend their money to boost those bonuses as high as possible. Green shoanti war paint and a dervish sikke for the bard, etc.


TxSam88 wrote:

we encountered one back when we were playing DnD 2.0 we just cast reverse gravity under it twice and sent it into space...

Reverse gravity can be cast at 13th level.....

Interesting tactic. Unfortunately, it is not as viable in Pathfinder as the Tarrasque is so big you would need to be a 27th level caster to effect the entire creature.


Boomerang Nebula wrote:
TxSam88 wrote:

we encountered one back when we were playing DnD 2.0 we just cast reverse gravity under it twice and sent it into space...

Reverse gravity can be cast at 13th level.....

Interesting tactic. Unfortunately, it is not as viable in Pathfinder as the Tarrasque is so big you would need to be a 27th level caster to effect the entire creature.

yeah - lots of the spells that we used offensively back in the day got huge nerfs when ported over to PF1.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

First


on a more serious note, it really kinda depends on two things; 1) player class builds give them tactical options, 2) player maturity & cleverness gives them strategic options.

Tarrasque (herald) monster CR:25

so your toughest group is 4 wizards and a tankish fighter or monkish/gunslinger (can't hit me) attack draw. They would make mincemeat of a tarrasque at 17th & 0 mythic level. A standard party of 5 (Wiz|Arcn, Ftr|Pal, Clr|Drd, Brd|Rog|Monk, Bldrager|Warprst|Slayer|Brawler) at 17th & 0 mythic are probably gonna take two 6-9r combats several days apart(while they strategize & recover) and probably go for a tactical draw (redirection or slumber) until 19+ level. 1 Mythic will give them an option and add toughness.
How's their APL vs encounter CR compared to where they should be? CR+3? +4? +5? {PF1 favors PCs more than DnD3.5}
Have they fought something with a high SR or antimagic?
What's their average damage per round against its AC?
How strategic are they? Have they demonstrated patience (lol - harder to do than you think)? Are they clever & tricky? Can the clever one or two PCs lead the party?
I've experienced a party die (near TPK) as a few party members just could not follow instructions.

Dark Archive

As soon as the group can afford a bag of holding and a portable hole

If a portable hole is placed within a bag of holding, it opens a gate to the Astral Plane: the hole, the bag, and any creatures within a 10-foot radius are drawn there, destroying the portable hole and bag of holding in the process

Defeats the big T in a "not my problem any more" sense


porting it to another plane doesn't work as a long plan option anymore. not since it became a herald.

see 'Azothath' link above:

"Herald, Tarrasque
...
...
(go to bottom of age)
...
...
Herald Subtype: Heralds are unique representatives of their respective gods and sometimes have a specific outsider subtype such as “devil” or “psychopomp” that grants it additional abilities. A herald has the following traits.

Always Armed (Su) ...

...
Emissary (Ex) Heralds can always be summoned by the faithful using greater planar ally or gate, regardless of limitations of that spell, even if it’s not an outsider."

one gate by a true follower of Rovagug and he's back to munching cities.


zza ni wrote:

porting it to another plane doesn't work as a long plan option anymore. not since it became a herald.

see 'Azothath' link above:

"Herald, Tarrasque
...
...
(go to bottom of age)
...
...
Herald Subtype: Heralds are unique representatives of their respective gods and sometimes have a specific outsider subtype such as “devil” or “psychopomp” that grants it additional abilities. A herald has the following traits.

Always Armed (Su) ...

...
Emissary (Ex) Heralds can always be summoned by the faithful using greater planar ally or gate, regardless of limitations of that spell, even if it’s not an outsider."

one gate by a true follower of Rovagug and he's back to munching cities.

That doesn't work. Despite being a Herald, the Tarrasque doesn't have the Herald subtype.

This is because the Tarrasque is way, way more powerful than the standard CR 15 Herald.

In fact, the only way to summon the Tarrasque is through Mythic Spawn Calling, which obviously requires you to be Mythic, as it takes 16 uses of Mythic Power to specifically summon the Tarrasque.

Liberty's Edge

I am not sure if a 10' tear in space can suck in a Colossal (30' x 30') creature. The Portable hole/Bag of holding trick creates a gate, so something with boundaries. You will get table variation.

Dark Archive

Diego Rossi wrote:
I am not sure if a 10' tear in space can suck in a Colossal (30' x 30') creature. The Portable hole/Bag of holding trick creates a gate, so something with boundaries. You will get table variation.

Spaghettification

Liberty's Edge

Name Violation wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
I am not sure if a 10' tear in space can suck in a Colossal (30' x 30') creature. The Portable hole/Bag of holding trick creates a gate, so something with boundaries. You will get table variation.
Spaghettification

There is no gravitational field in effect. And the tidal forces in the Spaghettification break and compress things, something that the trick doesn't do.

Dark Archive

Diego Rossi wrote:
Name Violation wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
I am not sure if a 10' tear in space can suck in a Colossal (30' x 30') creature. The Portable hole/Bag of holding trick creates a gate, so something with boundaries. You will get table variation.
Spaghettification
There is no gravitational field in effect. And the tidal forces in the Spaghettification break and compress things, something that the trick doesn't do.

" any creatures within a 10-foot radius are drawn there"

Doesn't say a size limit. Just a yes/no check
Is it within 10 ft? If yes then thing happens

Liberty's Edge

Name Violation wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
Name Violation wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
I am not sure if a 10' tear in space can suck in a Colossal (30' x 30') creature. The Portable hole/Bag of holding trick creates a gate, so something with boundaries. You will get table variation.
Spaghettification
There is no gravitational field in effect. And the tidal forces in the Spaghettification break and compress things, something that the trick doesn't do.

" any creatures within a 10-foot radius are drawn there"

Doesn't say a size limit. Just a yes/no check
Is it within 10 ft? If yes then thing happens

That is why I said " You will get table variatin".

Does a creature that is 10, 20, and 30 feet away count as one that is "within a 10-foot radius"?
If it was an effect originating from the creature, yes, it would.
For an outside effect, it is less clear.
A creature being half in and half out from an Anti Magic Field will be immune to magic?
So, I think that different GMs will give different answers.


Tom Marlow wrote:

I am crafting a campaign (We Just Started) where the last big boss battle will be the party of 5 vs a Tarrasque.

I want this battle to be epic, but I don’t want the party to instantly die or them to kill it super fast.
...
I am fine with giving the mythic ranks as well.

essentially a request to craft a memorable experience not an (theoretical) easy out.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There was a build on the forums a few years ago called "The Vacuum" that exploited an oversight in Big T's defensive suite.

EDIT: found it


Thanks for all your help, you guys have given me a lot to think about.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / What Minimum level to fight a Tarrasque and win? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice