Flurry of Maneuvers


Rules Discussion


Could you pair Derring-Do with Flurry of Maneuvers so you attempt to grapple roll twice, for example you only end up with a success on the first attempt, then roll grapple again on the second attempt and hopefully Crit. So 4 chances to Crit?


You could but it opens up your grab getting broken if you fail the 2nd attempt.


Epic nonetheless. It say:

Prerequisites expert in Athletics
You flurry is a combination of maneuvers. You can replace one or both of your attacks during a Flurry of Blows with Grapples, Shoves, or Trips.

Does this mean you would have to MC into Monk and get FoB first and then FoM? Even though the prerequisites say expert in athletics only


No you can take it without flurry of blows, it just doesn't do anything (unlike stunning fist, which you do need flurry of blows for)

Dark Archive

To have flurry of blows you have to be a monk - or take it from the monk archetype at lvl 10+
Flurry of blows applies MAP normally, which means flurry of maneuvers does as well. it is basically an action compression, allowing two strikes (maneuvers) for one action.
Depending on the target DC, the derring-do bonus will more or less cancel the map malus on the second attempt.


Atalius wrote:

Epic nonetheless. It say:

Prerequisites expert in Athletics
You flurry is a combination of maneuvers. You can replace one or both of your attacks during a Flurry of Blows with Grapples, Shoves, or Trips.

Does this mean you would have to MC into Monk and get FoB first and then FoM? Even though the prerequisites say expert in athletics only

Yeah, I am not sure why it doesn't list Flurry of Blows as a prerequisite. That seems like an oversight that leaves a trap option.

I agree with MEATSHED. RAW you could take Flurry of Maneuvers, but then not be able to use it until you have the Flurry of Blows action.

Edit: I guess it isn't completely a trap option. It does mean that you are filling your level 8 feat slot with FoM instead of your level 12 slot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Flurry of Maneuvers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.