Can you return to an archetype?


Rules Discussion


By which I mean, if you take a second dedication feat, that doesn't prevent you from taking further feats from your first archetype, right? I cannot find anything that stops you, but I might have missed something.

For example, one of my players has recently taken the Medic dedication. Which has a couple of level 4 feats, 1 at 6 and one at 8. Then a big gap until 1 at 16. Since we are using the Free Archetype variant, the PC would be basically forced to take a new Dedication at 10th level at the latest (and in practice, they might well do so earlier). Having done so, can they still take Resuscitate at 16th level if they want to?

It probably doesn't actually matter for this particular PC: We are doing Abomination Vaults so he is not going to make 16th level unless we take the same characters into another AP afterwards, but it got me thinking.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

You haven't left an archetype, you can still take feats from it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Seconded. When you pick feats, you pick one from all of the feats that you meet the prerequisites for.

Archetype feats only require that you have taken the dedication feat for that archetype. They don't become unavailable if you take a second dedication feat.


Thanks folks. I was 90% sure that was the case, but that 10% kept nagging at me!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Archetype feats themselves are not restricted by the 2-feat rule that often appears in Dedication feats. Only (most) Dedication feats have that special requirement.

Therefore, there is no "getting out of" or "getting back into" an archetype once you have its Dedication feat. Unless you count Retraining away your Dedication/Archetype feats, and then Retraining them back in at a later time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can you return to an archetype? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.