Bombs


Rules Discussion


Hello, I have some questions about bombs.

Is it possible to put a bomb on an opponent with plant evidence feat and trigger the bomb then ?
(demolitonist dedication ?)

Can Demolition charge to permit to destroy a structure to collapse on the opponents ?
Which rules use for this ? Collapse wall feat only ?
Can the opponent be buried ?

Controlled blast permit to apply calculated splash (to deal splash damage equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum 0) instead of the normal amount), expanded splash (can add your Intelligence modifier to the bomb’s usual splash damage, and it deals splash damage to every creature within 10 feet of the target), directional bombs (treat the target’s space as the first affected square of a 15-foot cone directed away from you for splash damage).

Several cones with directional bombs ?
Set explosives :1-2 bombs
Demolition charge : 1-4 bombs

With bomb coagulant alembic or alchemical gut, the bomb deals no splash damage but instead deals persistent damage equal to and of the same type as its original splash damage. If the bomb already deals persistent damage, distilling increases that damage by the bomb's original splash damage.

So with demolition charge or set explosives, the bombs make persistent damage instead splash damage ?

What means "increases that damage by the bomb's original splash damage" ?

Thanks for your future answer.


Quote:
Is it possible to put a bomb on an opponent with plant evidence feat and trigger the bomb then ? (demolitonist dedication ?)

No. Demolitionist Dedication's ability Set Explosives requires an inanimate object. Even construct enemies would not qualify for that because they are animate (self-moving) objects. An enemy's clothing would also not qualify because that would be an attended object.

Quote:

Can Demolition charge to permit to destroy a structure to collapse on the opponents ?

Which rules use for this ? Collapse wall feat only ?
Can the opponent be buried ?

Demolition Charge wouldn't cause collapsing. That is what Collapse Wall does. I wouldn't allow a level 4 feat to duplicate the effects of a level 12 feat. Especially not one from the same archetype.

Collapse Wall lists out the rules for what being buried means and how the target creature can remove the penalties.

Quote:

Controlled blast permit to apply calculated splash (to deal splash damage equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum 0) instead of the normal amount), expanded splash (can add your Intelligence modifier to the bomb’s usual splash damage, and it deals splash damage to every creature within 10 feet of the target), directional bombs (treat the target’s space as the first affected square of a 15-foot cone directed away from you for splash damage).

Several cones with directional bombs ?
Set explosives :1-2 bombs
Demolition charge : 1-4 bombs

I'm not entirely sure what the question is here.

I do think that Calculated Splash and Expanded Splash should work together. Calculated Splash will remove the bombs original splash amount and use your INT modifier instead. Expanded Splash would add your INT modifier to the replaced result just as well as it would to the bomb's original splash amount.

Set Explosives (from the dedication) doesn't normally allow you to use Calculated Splash, Expanded Splash, or Directional Bombs. If you also have Controlled Blast, then you can, but you can only do the INT replacement and addition to one of the bombs - the others would still not have anything other than their item's base splash damage value.

Quote:
With bomb coagulant alembic or alchemical gut, the bomb deals no splash damage but instead deals persistent damage equal to and of the same type as its original splash damage. If the bomb already deals persistent damage, distilling increases that damage by the bomb's original splash damage.
Quote:
So with demolition charge or set explosives, the bombs make persistent damage instead splash damage ?

Yes. Because that is an additive to the bomb item itself. So that is now what the bomb itself does. Attaching to a chair and activating it in a non-standard way doesn't change that.

Quote:
What means "increases that damage by the bomb's original splash damage" ?

Easiest to show this with an example. The Acid Flask (moderate) - which does 2d6 persistent damage and 2 splash damage.

With Coagulant Alembic it would change the Acid Flask to deal 2d6 persistent damage and 2 persistent damage. But if that was all that it did, then it wouldn't be very useful since persistent damage of the same type doesn't stack. You would instead only use the one with the higher value. So that rule specifies that if the bomb does both persistent damage and splash damage, then after converting the splash damage to persistent damage, you add the existing persistent damage and the converted persistent damage together - effectively causing them to stack.

So the Acid Flask (moderate) with Coagulant Alembic would deal 2d6 +2 persistent acid damage. Which is one condition with a single (though complex) value.

It still wouldn't stack with other sources of persistent acid damage. But the bomb itself is only one instance of persistent damage, so no anti-stacking rule applies.


Quote:

Crystal Cat

Quote:

Is it possible to put a bomb on an opponent with plant evidence feat and trigger the bomb then ? (demolitonist dedication ?)

No. Demolitionist Dedication's ability Set Explosives requires an inanimate object. Even construct enemies would not qualify for that because they are animate (self-moving) objects. An enemy's clothing would also not qualify because that would be an attended object.

For example with plant an evidence and a remote trigger ?

Quote:
Bombs detonated in this way deal their splash damage as if they had missed a target in the square where they were triggered.

Are there also persistent damage ?


Ah. Remote Trigger is an item.

I think it would work with Plant Evidence, but it isn't going to work as well as you want it to.

Calculated Splash and Expanded Splash only work when you throw the bomb. Or if you have Controlled Blast you can use it with Set Explosives when you attach a bomb to an inanimate object.

Using Plant Evidence to put a bomb on a person is none of those. So Calculated Splash and Expanded Splash would not work.

And no, Remote Trigger only deals the splash damage, not the base damage and not the persistent damage. And the splash damage is only in the square where the bomb is - not to the surrounding area.

Coagulant Alembic removes the splash damage that the bomb normally does - so since Remote Trigger only deals the bomb's splash damage, then a bomb with a Coagulant Alembic would deal no damage at all when used this way.


Is it possible to make something similar to Anjelique Loveless ?

Quote:
Plant Pyronite Charge After making a successful melee Strike against a creature, Anjelique makes a Thievery check against the target's Perception DC. On a success, she activates and secretly plants a specially formulated sticky pyronite charge on the creature. This charge detonates after 3 rounds, dealing 4d8 fire damage to all creatures within a 10-foot radius (DC 34 basic Reflex save) and detonating any other pyronite charges within the area. After making a successful ranged Strike against a creature stuck with a planted charge, Anjelique can choose to shoot a bullet through the charge, dealing normal damage and detonating the charge immediately. A creature can use an Interact action to find and remove a planted charge from itself or an adjacent creature. These pyronite charges have the infused trait and are inert until activated by Anjelique.

Plant an evidence ? Trick shot ?

Slice and Swipe or Stella's stab and snag ?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Bombs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.