Clarification on two abilities (OA2 Yoon, and Radillo)


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Yoon: When you reset your hand, after you draw cards, you may set aside an equal number of random cards from your discard pile, bury 1, and shuffle the rest into your deck.

I cast a spell, and bless. end my turn. Draw 2, I have the option to get 2 random cards from my discard pile, bury 1 and shuffle the other in? Also do I choose the buried card or is it random between the two.

Radillo: When you play a spell that has the Arcane trait during an encounter, you may examine the bottom card of your deck; if it is a spell (☐ or an ally), you may put it on top of your deck (☐ or add it to your hand).

This is more a "is this as broken as I think" question. Playing with the Card Society ruleset with Wizard class deck + Ultimate Magic.
By Adventure 1 I can check "add to hand", and have Detect magic, and Locate Object. Cast detect magic, immediatly recharge to bottom of deck. Cast locate object, see Detect magic on bottom, add to hand. Immediatly recharge to bottom. Rinse repeat for every turn pull every boon out of 1 location.


Pyrowolf wrote:

Yoon: When you reset your hand, after you draw cards, you may set aside an equal number of random cards from your discard pile, bury 1, and shuffle the rest into your deck.

I cast a spell, and bless. end my turn. Draw 2, I have the option to get 2 random cards from my discard pile, bury 1 and shuffle the other in? Also do I choose the buried card or is it random between the two.

(Occult Adventures 2 deck Yoon) - You can choose the card you bury. It's worth remembering that recovery comes before resetting your hand, so if Yoon recovers the spell she cast, it will get recharged during recovery and probably shuffled higher in the deck when she uses her reset power to heal.

Pyrowolf wrote:

Radillo: When you play a spell that has the Arcane trait during an encounter, you may examine the bottom card of your deck; if it is a spell (☐ or an ally), you may put it on top of your deck (☐ or add it to your hand).

This is more a "is this as broken as I think" question. Playing with the Card Society ruleset with Wizard class deck + Ultimate Magic.
By Adventure 1 I can check "add to hand", and have Detect magic, and Locate Object. Cast detect magic, immediatly recharge to bottom of deck. Cast locate object, see Detect magic on bottom, add to hand. Immediatly recharge to bottom. Rinse repeat for every turn pull every boon out of 1 location.

Good question! These spells work a bit differently now. We have to rely on the PACG Core Conversion Guide. Basically, under the section "Some spells need a bit more help with recovery than the Transition Guide offers", we are told:

PACG Core Conversion wrote:
On all spells except those listed as exceptions below, if you play it by discarding it from your hand, change that action to "banish." . . . Then change any discard/recharge text to “DURING RECOVERY If proficient, discard this card; you may succeed at [whatever specific check is listed] to recharge it . . .

Thus, those two spells are banished when played (go to your recovery area), and you can try to recharge them during recovery.


Alright so essentially the rules from CORE are supposed to be retroactive to all previous sets?

Then the question becomes was that interaction as silly as I think it was using the rules on the cards as presented when they were printed.

EDIT:Just checked that link, mentions only for mixing older cards with CORE, not playing old sets, or even 90% of the Oganized Play adventures.


Pyrowolf wrote:
EDIT:Just checked that link, mentions only for mixing older cards with CORE, not playing old sets, or even 90% of the Oganized Play adventures.

It says "To use older cards with the Core Set, or to use the Core Set rulebook with older sets" (emphasis mine). In your original post, you said "Playing with the Card Society ruleset". In Society play, you use Core Set rules. (It's specifically called out in the PACS Guide.) Hence, Core Set rules with an older set; use the Conversion Guide.

Yes, it sounds like that combo would have been possible and rather absurd. Another reason why the Core Set revamp was a good thing, and I'd use Core Set rules with older sets even if I wasn't playing Society.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber
Pyrowolf wrote:

Alright so essentially the rules from CORE are supposed to be retroactive to all previous sets?

Then the question becomes was that interaction as silly as I think it was using the rules on the cards as presented when they were printed.

EDIT:Just checked that link, mentions only for mixing older cards with CORE, not playing old sets, or even 90% of the Oganized Play adventures.

Bit of a late reply, but even pre-core, no it is not broken. You missed the crucial wording of the power: When you play a spell that has the Arcane trait during an encounter. No looping Locate Object, Detect Magic, and the like because you don't play those during encounters. Pre-core, you can certainly play one, get it back by playing a combat spell in an encounter, and then play it a second time. But no looping.

(Post-core, you cannot because they all go into Recovery)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Clarification on two abilities (OA2 Yoon, and Radillo) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion