Undead Eidolon and Living PC in PFS [INTERACTIONS AND QUESTIONS]


Pathfinder Society

Radiant Oath

I am playing a human with an undead eidolon in Pathfinder society and wanted to get some rules clerifications:

I cast AOE Heal. Am I correct in this rules interaction:
Undead Critical Failure: I am damaged the amount the eidolon takes ONLY IF it is more
than I heal? [I have Energy heart positive so the damage he would take is reduced by
half my level]
Undead Fails / Succeeds / Critical Suceeds: I heal the amount rolled.

I think this is correct based on the wording from SOM page 53.
"Lastly, the connection between you and your eidolon
means you both share a single pool of Hit Points.
Damage taken by either you or the eidolon reduces your
Hit Points, while healing either of you recovers your Hit
Points. Like with your actions, if you and your eidolon
are both subject to the same effect that affects your Hit
Points, you apply those effects only once (applying the
greater effect, if applicable). For instance, if you and
your eidolon get caught in an area effect that would
heal or damage you both, only the greater amount of
healing or damage applies."

Interaction 2: Harm As I myself do not have resistance to negative energy how do I calculate the healing / damage I would take from an aoe harm effect?

Interaction 3: This is just a basic question because I think the forum that I saw was wrong. They were saying that Necromancer's generocity can heal an eidolon but since it does not have the minion trait this is false... correct?

Thank you all in advance! See you in game
-Tao Long.

Horizon Hunters 2/5 **** Venture-Agent, California—Silicon Valley

"Your undead eidolon has a link directly to your life force, which grants it a twilight state between living and undead. This renders it a living creature and therefore susceptible to many ailments that bother only the living, though it does possess some resistances to these effects."

Further, Negative Healing only makes the Eidolon heal from negative effects that heal undead and take positive damage from affects that damage undead.

So, it would be immune to Heal, and gain HP from Harm. If you were both in an area of Harm though, you would take damage and heal it right back, since it's both a positive and negative effect to you.

Finally, it would help if we knew who was saying Necromancer's Generosity works on Eidolons, because as you pointed out they are not an Undead Minion, so they wouldn't be a valid target of the spell.

**

Undead Eidolons have the Undead Trait. They are living but it doesn't change that they are also Undead.
So Heal would damage them.

About your questions: You and your Eidolon are not exactly affected by the same effect. One is damaged and one is healed, so it's hard to consider that they are the same effects with just different levels of power. As such, I think most GMs will rule that you both take damage and healing, for (if the Eidolon fails the save) quite a null effect.

As a side note, if you are the one casting AoE Harm, you can exclude yourself from the area. It can be a nice way to damage enemies while healing your Eidolon as long as your Summoner is away from the party (or able to exclude them with the proper feat).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Tao Long wrote:
I am playing a human with an undead eidolon in Pathfinder society and wanted to get some rules clerifications:

It would likely be best to take this to the Pathfinder Society forum. The general Rules forum community is heavily split on how Negative Healing works. PFS probably has an official ruling for it though.

**

breithauptclan wrote:
Tao Long wrote:
I am playing a human with an undead eidolon in Pathfinder society and wanted to get some rules clerifications:
It would likely be best to take this to the Pathfinder Society forum. The general Rules forum community is heavily split on how Negative Healing works. PFS probably has an official ruling for it though.

I haven't heard of a specific PFS rules regarding Negative Healing (and as I play a Dhampir, I'm looking for such rules). So the rules forum seems the best place to speak about it.

Also, the OP question is more regarding the Summoner (and the way it handles being both healed and damaged by the same spell) than Negative Healing.

Speaking about it, it makes me realize that Shield Other on your own Eidolon may create a case where you only take half damage from everything hitting your Eidolon :D


1 person marked this as a favorite.
SuperBidi wrote:

I haven't heard of a specific PFS rules regarding Negative Healing (and as I play a Dhampir, I'm looking for such rules). So the rules forum seems the best place to speak about it.

Also, the OP question is more regarding the Summoner (and the way it handles being both healed and damaged by the same spell) than Negative Healing.

If they haven't made an official ruling, they probably should.

Regarding Summoner, it depends on how this line is interpreted.

Quote:
Like with your actions, if you and your eidolon are both subject to the same effect that affects your Hit Points, you apply those effects only once (applying the greater effect, if applicable).

Is the healing effect of Heal and the undead harming effect of Heal the same effect, or different?

If different, then they will both apply - the HP going up and down by some amount.

If they are the same effect, what is meant by 'greater'? The more beneficial one? Or the numerically higher one?

The rules alone don't answer these questions. We can argue it until the heat death of the universe, but it would probably be better to have the GM make a ruling on it that the players are happy with. And for PFS, that means having an official ruling.


SuperBidi wrote:
Speaking about it, it makes me realize that Shield Other on your own Eidolon may create a case where you only take half damage from everything hitting your Eidolon :D

Also debatable. I would run that as two separate damaging events. The Eidolon takes half, then the Summoner takes the other half. Since they affect the same HP pool, the full damage gets applied.

Protect Companion can do some net damage reduction though. As far as I can math, pretty much exactly the same damage reduction as the Shield cantrip.

Dark Archive 4/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Finland—Turku

While there's no official answer, the most common interpretation among GMs in the discord server (as far as I've seen) seems to be that eidolon takes the damage from Heal (because it deals positive damage to undead and the undead eidolon takes damage from positive effects that would damage undead) and it heals the Summoner (because the summoner is alive). Because one is damage and one is healing, you should apply both. If both got damaged or both got healed, you would apply just the higher one, but since they are experiencing a different effect (heal vs dmg), they get both.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Undead Eidolon and Living PC in PFS [INTERACTIONS AND QUESTIONS] All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society