Dancing Shield Spell


Rules Discussion


The spell states that the target is one shield and one willing target, but in the description it states that the sheild orbits around one willing "ally". Can the caster be his own ally? My PC is a fighter with the cleric archetype, using a two handed weapon, and I thought it would be interesting to have use the option to use this as a buff spell in some circumstances.


Nope, in PF2 you are not your own ally. This spell is clearly meant to protect someone else than you.


Thanks. I thought I was being overly generous with my interpretation.


SuperBidi wrote:
Nope, in PF2 you are not your own ally. This spell is clearly meant to protect someone else than you.

I disagree. The important part is that the Targets portion of the spell designates a willing creature, and not a willing ally.

The part of the spell description that mentions ally is the much discussed "first sentence" of the spell, which tends to be a description of what the spell, or other ability/item/thing, does without rules text. Both the Targets section as well as the rules text both use the word creature instead.

This means that you could use the spell to say defend a defenseless villager who may not be an ally of yours for whatever reason.

Edit: for clarity and to quote the spell.

Dancing Shield wrote:


Targets 1 touched shield and 1 willing creature

You levitate the touched shield and orbit it around a nearby ally. When you Cast the Spell and Sustain the Spell, the shield uses the Raise a Shield action to protect the target creature.


You are not your own ally. However, the wording of the spell is ambiguous because as beowulf99 pointed out, using 'ally' in the spell description is contradictory with the targeting line.

For balance considerations, allowing a character to target themselves with the spell would basically give them the Shield Block feat with the additional benefit of not taking up a hand holding the shield.

But it isn't uncommon to have spells duplicate the effects of a feat - often with additional benefits.

Longstrider: Fleet

Jump: Quick Jump with no DC 30 Athletics check needed.


beowulf99 wrote:
This means that you could use the spell to say defend a defenseless villager who may not be an ally of yours for whatever reason.

From the description of "ally", this villager is an ally.

But you're right that there's a contradiction inside the spell (I overlooked it). So I remove my comment.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Dancing Shield Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.