Flurry of Blows damage vs Resistances and Weaknesses.


Rules Discussion


I have a question about Flurry of Blows and how it interacts in pertaining to Resistances and Weaknesses. The stock class feature states:

Make two unarmed Strikes. If both hit the same creature, combine their damage for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses. Apply your multiple attack penalty to the Strikes normally. As it has the flourish trait, you can use Flurry of Blows only once per turn.

There are a number of feats however that alter the Flurry of Blows feature namely Flurry of Maneuvers, and on top of that there are a number of feats sprinkled through PF2 that add damage to successful grapples (Crushing Grab, Heaven's Thunder, etc.) . So the question is if I Grapple/Strike with my augmented Flurry of Blows against the same opponent will the damage stack or be calculated separately?

Grand Lodge

I think you are going to find a lot of GM variance here, so you should check with your GM.

personally, I would combine the damage from the maneuvers, just like I would with Strikes.

Liberty's Edge

I am almost 100% certain that it is supposed to be lumped together before calculating R & W in all situations but I've been wrong before. The fact that other feats and abilities modify FoB shouldn't matter unless those Abilities distinctly note that it changes the R & W calculation, of which I don't recall ever seeing any.


I would also look at Stunning Fist.

Is it too much to allow one attack from FoB be a Strike and the other be a Trip and still let Stunning Fist take effect from the one Strike that hits?

Personally, I think it is. Stunning Fist specifically calls out that you have to use two Strike attacks on the creature before you can attempt to stun it though. So with Flurry of Maneuvers and replacing one of them with Trip, then it wouldn't trigger Stunning Fist anyway.

But that is also how I feel about Flurry of Maneuvers and combining damage for weaknesses and resistances. If both Strike attacks hit the creature, then combine the damage. If you replace one of the Strike attacks with a Trip and get a critical on it, you still don't combine the damage because the damage combining is a feature added by making two Strikes.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Combining the damage isn't necessarily a good thing, though. It is for resistance, but for weaknesses it's bad.


breithauptclan wrote:

I would also look at Stunning Fist.

Personally, I think it is. Stunning Fist specifically calls out that you have to use two Strike attacks on the creature before you can attempt to stun it though. So with Flurry of Maneuvers and replacing one of them with Trip, then it wouldn't trigger Stunning Fist anyway.

Thanks for everyone's input and quick replies! @breithauptclan, I agree 100% with Stunning Fist as it specifically states it has to be two strikes against the same target to activate the effect. I just had pause with the wording of flurry of blows as it simply says make 2 strikes, and if both attacks land sum damage in regards to resistances and weaknesses. I guess I was looking at it as a math if statement and flurry of maneuvers simply subs out one or both strikes for grapples, trips, or shoves. But I was probably just making it more difficult than intended, which is often the case.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Flurry of Blows damage vs Resistances and Weaknesses. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.