Stacking Debuffs question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So I have a witch and a mesmerist in my upcoming game, and the witch really wants to take evil eye, but the mesmerist hypnotic stare ability says that the penalties from the stare don't stack with a witch's evil eye. So does that mean that if the mesmerist stares at a creature and gives them the -2 to Will saves, and a witch gives the same creature a -2 to AC with evil eye, only the mesmerist one applies, or does the term stacking only refer to an instance where the penalty is to the same type or roll, like if the witch used evil eye against the creatures saving throws?


Based on this FAQ, I'm very sure only the penalty to saves doesn't stack. So Evil Eye to AC and Hypnotic Stace can both affect the same target.

Liberty's Edge

When penalties don't stack they normally overlap, but for that to have a significant effect you need to have penalties that affect the same thing.
If you have an effect that penalizes saves and one that penalizes AC, the save penalty overlap on the N/A save effect of the ability that affect AC, and the AC penalty overlap on the N/A AC effect of the ability that penalizes the saves.


Diego Rossi wrote:

When penalties don't stack they normally overlap, but for that to have a significant effect you need to have penalties that affect the same thing.

If you have an effect that penalizes saves and one that penalizes AC, the save penalty overlap on the N/A save effect of the ability that affect AC, and the AC penalty overlap on the N/A AC effect of the ability that penalizes the saves.

1. What on earth are you trying to say here?

2. What is the rules basis for a "N/A" effect?

Liberty's Edge

Carrauntoohil wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:

When penalties don't stack they normally overlap, but for that to have a significant effect you need to have penalties that affect the same thing.

If you have an effect that penalizes saves and one that penalizes AC, the save penalty overlap on the N/A save effect of the ability that affect AC, and the AC penalty overlap on the N/A AC effect of the ability that penalizes the saves.

1. What on earth are you trying to say here?

2. What is the rules basis for a "N/A" effect?

N/A = Not Allowed i.e "there is nothing here"

I am saying that the effects overlap as they don't stack, but there isn't a consequence from that, as there isn't a value to overlap.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stacking Debuffs question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.