Big Guy Reach & Extra Reachyness!!!


Rules Questions


Hello!!! :)

So let's say you have a Bloodrager that is enlarged and has the Aberrant Abnormal Reach bloodline power and said person casts Long Arm.

What exactly is the resultant threatened area etc?

Abnormal Reach (Su)
At 4th level, your limbs elongate; your reach increases by 5 feet.

Long Arm
Your arms temporarily grow in length, increasing your reach with those limbs by 5 feet.

Reach Graphics

I'm thinking it would be exactly as in the above Large (Tall) diagram.

Liberty's Edge

Lemartes wrote:


Abnormal Reach (Su)
At 4th level, your limbs elongate; your reach increases by 5 feet.

Long Arm
Your arms temporarily grow in length, increasing your reach with those limbs by 5 feet.

I think they are the same size change, so they don't stack.

FAQ wrote:

Size increases and effective size increases: How does damage work if I have various effects that change my actual size, my effective size, and my damage dice?

As per the rules on size changes, size changes do not stack, so if you have multiple size changing effects (for instance an effect that increases your size by one step and another that increases your size by two steps), only the largest applies. The same is true of effective size increases (which includes “deal damage as if they were one size category larger than they actually are,” “your damage die type increases by one step,” and similar language). They don’t stack with each other, just take the biggest one. However, you can have one of each and they do work together (for example, enlarge person increasing your actual size to Large and a bashing shield increasing your shield’s effective size by two steps, for a total of 2d6 damage).

The FAQ is about damage, but cite the rule that size changes don't stack.


Umm...not sure I agree yet.

Enlarge Person size change.

The other two don't mention your size category changing just reach.

So while I think that maybe the Abnormal Reach and Long Arm might not stack with each other I think that one or the other would stack with Enlarge Person.

Theoretically what would the threatened area be if one worked and what would it be if they both worked with Enlarge?


Yeah, a reach increase is not a size change, and to my knowledge there is no rule on reach increases not stacking. This FAQ is the relevant one.

"Double the base reach for a creature of your size first, then add in all the other abilities afterwards."

10 from Large, +5 from Abnormal Reach, +5 from Long Arm = 20, with no dead space (as that only exists when using reach weapons).


Okay, so then exactly like the graphic I linked for Large(Tall). Thanks all. :)


The graphic differentiates between natural wreach and reach weapons, whereas he Bloodrager in question can attack both of these areas. So it's like the graphic if you ignore the colors, and understand that it only applies to non-reach weapons.


That I know. I meant the overall reach, which I didn't make clear! Doh!

Thanks. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Big Guy Reach & Extra Reachyness!!! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.