Magus Spellstrike & Weakness / Resistance


Rules Discussion


Does the Magus's Spellstrike combine strike damage with spell damage?

e.g.

If I Spellstrike with a slashing weapon and Gouging Claw and an enemy has Resist Slashing 5, Do I subtract the 5 from my damage once or twice?

If my weapon has the Flaming Rune (1d6 fire damage) and I Spellstrike with Produce Flame against an enemy with Weakness Fire 5, do I proc the extra 5 damage once or twice?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Twice. The rules would have to say that the spell and strike are combined for weakness and resistance, since that isn't a default assumption. No rules say that.


HammerJack wrote:
Twice. The rules would have to say that the spell and strike are combined for weakness and resistance, since that isn't a default assumption. No rules say that.

You would first need to decide if spellstrike counts as a single instance of damage or multiple. All the damage comes in with one attack so I'd say it's one instance with the rules on weakness.


Instance of damage is a concept that is mentioned in the rules but not in a way that defines it. We only have natural English.


Gortle wrote:
Instance of damage is a concept that is mentioned in the rules but not in a way that defines it. We only have natural English.

"Ask your gm" to the rescue once again. Oh well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Magus Spellstrike & Weakness / Resistance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.