Upgrading a wand of xxxxxx


Rules Discussion


Is it raw as the other items like staves, runes, bracers, etc...?

For example, let's say the character would like to have a wand of heal or summon undead always with a level equal to the maximizing currently available.

Would they be able to just pay an amount of golds equal to the cost of the new wand minus the wand they already have?


HumbleGamer wrote:

Is it raw as the other items like staves, runes, bracers, etc...?

For example, let's say the character would like to have a wand of heal or summon undead always with a level equal to the maximizing currently available.

Would they be able to just pay an amount of golds equal to the cost of the new wand minus the wand they already have?

Up to the GM like all non fundamental runes are:

"The GM might allow you to Craft a permanent item from a lower-level version of the same item as an upgrade. For example, you might upgrade a bag of holding from a type I to a type II bag, but you couldn’t upgrade a clear spindle aeon stone into an orange prism aeon stone. The cost for this upgrade is the full difference in Price between the items, and the
Crafting check uses a DC for the item’s new level."


HumbleGamer wrote:

Is it raw as the other items like staves, runes, bracers, etc...?

For example, let's say the character would like to have a wand of heal or summon undead always with a level equal to the maximizing currently available.

Would they be able to just pay an amount of golds equal to the cost of the new wand minus the wand they already have?

RAW, it's GM FIAT, so expect table variation. As someone who is a GM, if it's the same congruent item, I'd say yes, without question. If it's a whole different item, probably not, at least not without "houseruling." (I put houseruling in parentheticals because again, it's GM FIAT, which is essentially game-enforced table variation.)

With the given context of the thread, Wands are flexible enough to where the cost of a given level is the same no matter the spell (assuming rarity does not play a factor), so it makes sense that if you have, say, a Wand of Heal (Level 1), and want to upgrade it to a Wand of Heal (Level 2), you just pay the difference. The same could be done for Staves, Scrolls, etc.

However, if you decide to change the spell stored in the Wand instead of (or in addition to) increasing the spell level, that's where GM FIAT kicks in, and no one table will be the same. Personally, I'd rule that if you're changing the spell being stored from one to another, I'd take a page from the "transferring runes" rules and demand that 10% of the item's value is paid for, and 1 day of downtime is required, to alter the spell stored in the Wand. This is also assuming you are changing from a common rarity spell to another common rarity spell; going up or down on the rarity scale can increase or reduce the price needed for this, as well as the possibility of it being done in the first place.

Incidentally, with this "houserule," if a character is wanting to both change the spell and the level, they would pay both the difference plus the 10% "alteration" fee. So, a character wanting to upgrade their 5th level Heal into 6th level Regenerate would pay the difference of a 5th level Wand to a 6th level Wand, plus 10% of the 6th level Wand's value (since that's the end product you're wanting).

There are also "specific" Wands at a given level, which follow their own rules for scaling and pricing, which means you could not, for example, take a Wand of Magic Missiles (1st) and upgrade it to a Wand of Manifold Missiles (1st), since they are fundamentally different items with different pricing scaling and effects. However, you can still upgrade these "specific" Wands if you do not change the spell effect, meaning a Wand of Manifold Missiles (1st) can be upgraded to a Wand of Manifold Missiles (3rd), but not, say, a Wand of Smoldering Fireballs of any higher level.

Sczarni

If you happen to be asking for PFS, you just pay the difference.

Whether you're purchasing or Crafting.


Pathfinder Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

To upgrade a wand of xxxx to a wand of xxxxxx, you only need to pay the difference, or xx in this case. ;)

Or at least I'm sure that's how 99% of GMs are likely to run it. :)


Well, another obvious option would be to mechanically run it as selling/disassembling the old wand for 50% of its value and crafting the new improved version.

So (.5 * xxxx) + xx.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Upgrading a wand of xxxxxx All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.